Swanson® Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
A very good way to make Mashed potatoes. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I liked these, but I needed them to have a bit more oomph. I added some green onions and feta cheese (would have used cheddar, but I was out and that was the only kind I had!) I made these with the Swanson vegetable broth, also. Great basic recipe that you can tweak according to your mood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These were good, but not the best I've made. Added extra butter, salt, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These were good, but I have to admit that I didn't really measure anything, just eyeballed it..They definitely need salt, and I added a little garlic powder, which was a nice addition. I would make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a good solid recipe. I like using yukon gold potatoes for mashed potatoes because they are so buttery. I quartered the potatoes so they took longer to boil, about 20 minutes. What size you cut the potatoes is important because the time required will need to be adjusted. Keep this in mind when trying to time everything for a holiday dinner. The potatoes were very good. Like others mentioned, the broth makes the potatoes a little more yellow or gold than white. I used milk instead of cream and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Pretty typical mash. I often boil my taters in stock with garlic cloves, so this wasn't entirely new to me. Came out similar to the usual, though I did add garlic salt to perk these up as they definitely need salt to taste as well. Used scrubbed redskins, unsalted butter, and heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made these potatoes for dinner, and they were very good. I followed the recipe exactly, and mashed them by hand. Good texture, good flavor, not chicken-y at all. I believe the broth gave them more of a yellow color than we are accustomed to. Since I use unsalted butter, I felt the recipe needed a little added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a fine recipe - a couple of tips to avoid gluey potatoes, bring the broth and potatoes almost to a boil, reduce heat and just simmer until tender. Do not over mix them or you develop the potato starch and your potatoes turn gummy. I put the butter and cream in with the hot potatoes, cover and allow the butter to melt. Mash with a hand masher - add some reserved broth and finish stirring and mashing. If you don't have cream milk works just as well and saves you a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent base recipe for some awesome mashed potatoes! I first tried it according to the recipe and found it not quite to my personal liking. Next time I tried it, I used heavy cream, garlic powder, and butter. Whatever you do, don't add salt! the chicken broth has more than enough salt in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I loooove this potatoes! They're absolutely heavenly! The only thing was that I found 'light cream' hard to find, so I ended up using whipping cream. Delicious! I also recommend adding a dash of garlic powder, and a tablespoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States