Swanson® Ultimate Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Awesome, loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Stillwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Our new go-to mashed potato recipe! I followed this exactly (I used half and half as the cream... is that light cream? I wasn't sure, so I guessed). We passed on the bacon but I would totally add it for the occasional kick. But really, these potatoes don't need them. They can stand alone - no gravy needed. They were sooo good. A definite keeper for our recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsupcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is so far the best mashed potato recipe I’ve come across here in this website. You just cannot go wrong with butter, sour cream, fresh chives and crisp bacon in mashed potatoes cooked in chicken broth. It has all the flavors I like in mashed potatoes. I used very little half and half with lots of butter and a heaping amount of sour cream. I minced up fresh chives and added the crispy bacon along with a little of its grease for flavoring. It was rich, creamy, savory, seasoned just right and delicious! I served this with, “Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef,” and “Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
You can't go wrong with butter, bacon and sour cream in mashed potatoes, and cooking them in chicken broth just added another layer of delicious flavor. I didn't measure exactly, but I certainly added quite a bit more butter than the recipe directed and only dribbled in the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Super Yummy! I made this for a side dish with jack daniels garlic and herb chicken. it was a hit everyone loved these. we had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I didn't use the cream and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Loved these, especially my boyfriend! Will be staying in my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Left out the bacon, otherwise the mash will become far, far too fatty. It's a decent enough basic recipe for a country-style bowl of mashed potatoes - whether you need to use BOTH sour and light cream is entirely up to you, the chef. Oftentimes the addition of some fresh chopped parsley just before serving can make the world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaspis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Everyone loved this dish. This is going to be my new holiday dish. The only thing I did different was I only had 1 can of broth- so I used it along with enough water to cover my potatoes. I left them whole & when I mashed them, I kept the skin on. Then I mixed in 4 oz of sharp cheddar cheese into the potatoes & then sprinkled a little on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just made this for my hubby and I. I cut it down to two servings and did not use the bacon or light cream. Instead of the cream I used milk. I also did not really follow the proportions--I just added some of each until it tasted good. I great recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States