Swanson® Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Made this for lunch today. I used 1 14oz can "no salt" diced tomatoes and 1 can RoTel tomatoes with green chilies. Made the "homemade chicken broth" from this site. This is very healthy and very tasty. I can't wait to take in my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was one of the best soups we've had recently. Proof that sometimes the simplest of ingredients are all that's needed for a great tasting recipe. I followed just as written, although I deglazed the roasting pan first with some of the broth before adding all to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Don't let the short list of ingredients fool you: this soup is so satisfyingly delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and roasting those veggies prior to adding to the soup adds a whole other dimension of flavor. I used organic veggie broth rather than chicken. A change to the recipe indications: I did not add the roasted veggies until right before serving, as I didn't want them to lose that baked flavor & texture while sitting in the soup. Also, if you use quick barley, this soup only needs to simmer for 10 minutes before it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I roasted the garlic with sliced onions, and used canned fire roasted tomatoes. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. I added carrot, about 1 tsp salt and some pepper. Also a few bay leaves. I didn't roast my vegetables, rather I just did about a 5 minute saute of the carrot, celery and onion, and then the garlic for the last minute or so. Then you add in the tomatoes, broth and barley. I don't really recommend quick cook barley, it's more expensive per oz. than pearled... but if you do use it I would simmer the soup a good 40-45 minutes anyway, to let it all come together and become dense and flavorful. Then add the quick cook barley. I used Imagine brand broth. Great recipe, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
oh my wow!!! so flavorful, and super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was a hearty, healthy, easy to make soup. I added more garlic and 2 carrots diced small. I would also recommend drainind the tomatoes as well as you can before roasting. The less liquid, the better the "roasted" taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This soup was so easy to make and tasted great!! I added a pinch of salt and pepper and a shake of hot pepper flakes to the original recipe. Loved it! Then I had leftovers which were on the thick side so I added a small can of diced tomatoes, about a 1/2 cup of leftover pizza sauce and some salsa and it was even better!! Both days I put shredded Reggiano Parmesan cheese on top and it made it even better! I am the type who can't stick to an original recipe! I have to create!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This soup is fantastic!!! Just make sure to not over due the barley. I have zero broth because I dumped to much in! Reguardless it is amazing! I added green peppers and Italian seasoning for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Such a simple and tasty soup! I added a can of mild Rotel because we like a hint of spice. Hubby LOVED it and wants it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States