Swanson® Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Such a simple and tasty soup! I added a can of mild Rotel because we like a hint of spice. Hubby LOVED it and wants it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This soup is fantastic!!! Just make sure to not over due the barley. I have zero broth because I dumped to much in! Reguardless it is amazing! I added green peppers and Italian seasoning for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was a hearty, healthy, easy to make soup. I added more garlic and 2 carrots diced small. I would also recommend drainind the tomatoes as well as you can before roasting. The less liquid, the better the "roasted" taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Don't let the short list of ingredients fool you: this soup is so satisfyingly delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and roasting those veggies prior to adding to the soup adds a whole other dimension of flavor. I used organic veggie broth rather than chicken. A change to the recipe indications: I did not add the roasted veggies until right before serving, as I didn't want them to lose that baked flavor & texture while sitting in the soup. Also, if you use quick barley, this soup only needs to simmer for 10 minutes before it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I roasted the garlic with sliced onions, and used canned fire roasted tomatoes. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. I added carrot, about 1 tsp salt and some pepper. Also a few bay leaves. I didn't roast my vegetables, rather I just did about a 5 minute saute of the carrot, celery and onion, and then the garlic for the last minute or so. Then you add in the tomatoes, broth and barley. I don't really recommend quick cook barley, it's more expensive per oz. than pearled... but if you do use it I would simmer the soup a good 40-45 minutes anyway, to let it all come together and become dense and flavorful. Then add the quick cook barley. I used Imagine brand broth. Great recipe, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
oh my wow!!! so flavorful, and super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This soup was so easy to make and tasted great!! I added a pinch of salt and pepper and a shake of hot pepper flakes to the original recipe. Loved it! Then I had leftovers which were on the thick side so I added a small can of diced tomatoes, about a 1/2 cup of leftover pizza sauce and some salsa and it was even better!! Both days I put shredded Reggiano Parmesan cheese on top and it made it even better! I am the type who can't stick to an original recipe! I have to create!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Made this for lunch today. I used 1 14oz can "no salt" diced tomatoes and 1 can RoTel tomatoes with green chilies. Made the "homemade chicken broth" from this site. This is very healthy and very tasty. I can't wait to take in my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was one of the best soups we've had recently. Proof that sometimes the simplest of ingredients are all that's needed for a great tasting recipe. I followed just as written, although I deglazed the roasting pan first with some of the broth before adding all to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States