Swanson® Braised Beef with Shallots and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made this recipe for 4. I added more shallots than the recipe called for because I am very fond of them and they always add so much flavor to any kind of sauce I make. I did season the beef prior to browning it to give the meat a little more flavor. Also, I did not use the lemon zest or parsley. I served this with some mashed potatoes and the dish came out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lootylove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Time consuming, most of it during the cooking, but Oh So Good! I baked this in a cast iron dutch oven, rather than on the stovetop, at 325 degrees, and it came out tender, succulent, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent flavor, will definitely make again. I used onions instead of shallots and added a lot of garlic and pepper to the mix. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent cooked on day one but eaten on day two so the meat could rest and soak up all flavors. Paired with mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Loved It. I was looking for a Beef Stew without wine and came across this one. I used onion instead of shallots. Don't have shallots but have abundance of onions. Also substitued beef granules for stock. I added some potatoes because to me stew is not a stew without potatoes. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
A hit with everyone in my family. Instead of doing it stovetop, I did it in the oven at 350 with the same time. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm a complete beginner and this meal has turned out really well both times I've cooked it. It also stores well as a left over for the next day's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Good taste, but alot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is delicious! My meat and potatoes man and I loved it. I did not add the parsley or lemon zest, but otherwise made the dish as written. I've given this recipe to a few people, and it's always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was delicious! I used regular beef broth and added Worcestershire sauce. I didn't use the lemon zest as I thought would be weird. I think this recipe was a little more work than some, but the flavor was worth it. I took the skins off my tomatoes before chopping them. When it was finished I mixed it up with egg noodles and served with sourdough rolls. A tasty meal I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States