Swanson® Braised Beef with Shallots and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Really easy and really good. I didn't have shallots to hand, so I substituted a large, chopped vidalia onion, and added a chopped clove of garlic. It smells amazing while it cooks. Served with mashed potatoes and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was delicious! I used regular beef broth and added Worcestershire sauce. I didn't use the lemon zest as I thought would be weird. I think this recipe was a little more work than some, but the flavor was worth it. I took the skins off my tomatoes before chopping them. When it was finished I mixed it up with egg noodles and served with sourdough rolls. A tasty meal I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is delicious! My meat and potatoes man and I loved it. I did not add the parsley or lemon zest, but otherwise made the dish as written. I've given this recipe to a few people, and it's always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My husband & I made this for dinner last night and it was very good! However, next time we make it, we will cut down on the amount of lemon rind. We found it too overpowering for us. But, if you like a lot of lemon flavor (which seemed to us a strange combination with beef, but decided to try it anyway) then by all means, use the 2Tbl it calls for. Husband said he would also cut down on the parsley, but he's not a huge parsley fan. I loved the parsley! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent flavor, will definitely make again. I used onions instead of shallots and added a lot of garlic and pepper to the mix. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent cooked on day one but eaten on day two so the meat could rest and soak up all flavors. Paired with mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Loved It. I was looking for a Beef Stew without wine and came across this one. I used onion instead of shallots. Don't have shallots but have abundance of onions. Also substitued beef granules for stock. I added some potatoes because to me stew is not a stew without potatoes. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm a complete beginner and this meal has turned out really well both times I've cooked it. It also stores well as a left over for the next day's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
A hit with everyone in my family. Instead of doing it stovetop, I did it in the oven at 350 with the same time. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Good taste, but alot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States