Swabian Meatballs (Fleischkuechle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I baked them instead of frying, and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Made the recipe without changing a thing and I loved it! So happy to have found this. My mom used to make these when I was growing up, and I could never quite get it right when I tried to make them. We're from Bavaria (we always called them Fleischkuechle), so it's great to have a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were pretty run of the mill. I served with brown gravy. They were a little better the next day. I'd make them again, maybe. Just because it is decent, does not make it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was filling and it really stretched a pound of meat to several servings. These were very moist inside and had a nice crisp crust on the outside. I thought it was really bland though and it seemed to be screaming out for some type of sauce, or maybe that's just my southern cook thinking. My husband didn't care for this at all. It was okay but it just wasn't something we'd care to serve again here. Thanks though as I enjoyed trying out a new recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Considering that one of our favorite foreign exchange students came from this region of Germany, I was anxious to try these and was not disappointed. They were very good though, I did bake them instead of frying. She had brought us some dried spatzle (sp) and I cooked those and had them on the side. The whole meal was great! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie1951

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I only had beef, still great. I put splash of worcestershire sauce in the mix. Then baked at 400 degrees till done. So yummy, I could eat them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Tasty meatballs. Freeze and heat in favourite sauce for quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
overall good, i like to add brown spicy mustard and a little paprika to mine as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I grated one half of an onion instead of mincing it and I made 1 inch meatballs instead of patties. I made no other changes. I made a homemade cream sauce to go over it (think Swedish Meatballs) and I served this with my own Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes and roasted broccoli and cauliflower. Nice moist meatballs with great flavor. Good combination with the Swedish Meatball sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I can finally cook (almost) like my Oma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States