Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Excellent recipe! I've tried it several times using different vegetables. Great with peppers, carrots, and radishes - even canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The rice came out the best of any I have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
the hardest part of any sushi recipe is finding a bamboo mat... for a long time mine would come out bulky and uneven and generally not pretty. It's hard to roll sushi with just your hands - the nori rips if you press too hard and the roll coomes apart if not hard enough. The easiest thing to do if you cant find a bamboo mat is use a clean dish towel. To get the meat and other stuff right in the center of the roll, position it 3/4 down on the rice, rather than the center. Just some sushi tricks I've learned these past few years ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Good recipe, we made it without any seafood, it was still great. I had trouble with the rice and getting the rolls tight. It should say heat nori for 30 seconds. Also to press the rice on the nori with hands to make it stick together. I mean realy press it alot! We made it again with sald shrimp and the fake crab. yummmy! My husband did all the pressing. I will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a good recipie for sushi, however, I usually add a slice of cream cheese (put in freezer for 10 min to harden) and I leave the pickled ginger on the side with the wasabi. If you like spicy rolls, mix the krab with japanese mayo and sriracha chili sauce (avail at asian stores.) Its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
It was very good, but I added toasted sesame seeds to the rice, approximately 2 tablespoons. It added a delicate flavour and texture to the sushi. Also, wetting my hands to handle the rice helped create an even layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Sometimes its hard to keep those bambo mats clean. So what i do is put mine in a zip lock bag or wrap it in seran wrap. It works great and you can just throw away the bag or the saran when done. This recipe is very good and so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I've made these for years and I love them. You can make them with only one item rolled in or combine items in the rolls. I don't like to flake the crabmeat (it's better when you buy the long thin strips - it's more like at the restaurants, easier, and less messy). Go to a Japanese grocery store where you can buy frozen salmon, tuna, roe, etc. for some more variety. Also, I spread a VERY thin line of wasabi on the rice before I put on the avocado etc. It adds a little kick. And make sure when you're spreading the rice on the nori that you leave about a half inch at the end without rice so that when you're tightly rolling and almost at the end, you can wet that bare edge slightly with a little water on your fingertip. That way the roll will hold together. I don't heat the nori. I store it in the fridge, take it out and roll it just like that. I usually cut them into 8 pieces, otherwise they're too big. And when making the rice I add salt to the water instead of adding it after the rice is cooked and I don't put any sugar in it when I add the rice vinegar. Serve with soy sauce with a little wasabi mixed in. Sooooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This was our first sushi making experience and it was very successful! This recipe is easy and wonderful! We also did not heat the nori and it was fine. We used sashimi tuna and cream cheese for some variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States