Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
make sure you wrap your bamboo mat with serand wrap makes easy clean up and if u dont have bamboo mat use just serand wrap its just as easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prolawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great sushi recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I am flabbergasted by all of the positive reviews for this recipe. The proportions are way, WAY off. Look at any other recipe for sushi rice and you will see. This recipe has WAY too much vinegar and WAY too much sugar for the amount of rice used. The end result is a sloppy, wet, sugary mess that doesn't hold together. Also, most other recipes call for heating the sugar/vinegar/salt combination together to blend them, and also for letting the rice rest to absorb the last amount of liquid. This was just awful. I can only assume that everyone else who made this recipe simply ignored all of the errors and did their own thing. This was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this was... ok. I LOVE sushi but the rice was too sweet. And authentically, you don't put pickled ginger INSIDE the sushi... and! NO on the dipping it in teriyaki sauce and wasabi... gotta be soy sauce and wasabi. Nice attempt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMomma92607

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was my first time making sushi & after reading the reviews, I really didn't think I would have any problems. First, the rice didn't absorb all of the water, next the nori didn't really change in texture after heating & lastly, after putting ingredients on nori & rolling, the ingredients sqeezed out the side & the roll fell apart. I was extremely frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
first time i ever made sushi and it was very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Cute idea but I thought I would note, this is not Sushi, This is Maki, Sushi is fish (raw or not) on rice, Maki is the name of the nori wrapped roll. We have been making Maki in my (half Japanese) family for years and for all the interesting ways you can cusomise it, why pay $12 for it? Thank you! this is a great inexpensive way to enjoy something wonderful and (depending on what you fill it with) healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michan
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I make sushi with ingredients I find in my refregerator also. This time, I used imitation crab, tobiko roe, avocado and canned chicken. I also used plain rice instead of sushi rice. I like this way for calfornia type rolls. Kids love to make sushi too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
this can be california roll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
this is an awsome recipe i absolutaley love sushi !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States