Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm not a big sushi fan but i've made these rolls several times for my friends and family and they absolutely love them! I also make my rice a little different, using another sushi rice recipe on this website. Also the process of making them is really fun in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I cut way down on the sugar and used a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar. For the roll I used cucumber, avacado, and roasted eel. This was washed down with Korean Soju.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I LOVE sushi! In my opinion though, this recipe is way to sweet with a big vinegar taste. I didn't listen to one of the reviews that said it was too sweet.....I regret that now. Luckily, I only made two rolls so it wasn't a big waste. I may try to reduce the vinegar and sugar significantly and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The rice turned out excellent. I used the tempura shrimp recipe from this site and made tempura rolls with avocado, a bit of the imitation crab mixed with mayo and lots of Sriracha & wasabi. So good, a girlfriend & I made about 10 rolls and we had a feast with our fiances. Best of all, it's super inexpensive compared to going out to sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
this is pretty easy, taste great too. I didnt have any rice vinager,so I just left it out, when I was cooking the rice(2 cups) I did add 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil soooo good. It didnt have that sometimes overpowering sweetness to it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Just made it and it came out wonderfully. The rice is exactly the way it tastes and smells in Japan, and the directions clear. I only made the small change of ripping the nori sheet to its roll size before starting to roll, I think my knife was too dull as it broke down the nori and undid the roll. It takes a while to get the hang of how to make a perfect roll, but it was really worth it. I can't wait to surprise my friends with this as an appetizer. Tonight's rolls will only be for me though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LOVE this recipe and use it all the time. I use regular rice (because that is just what I have on hand) and let simmer after adding the vinegar/sugar mixture until it is the desired consistancy. Otherwise it ends up too watery. Having some trouble finding places that supply sushi quality fish so I can expand out from California rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Fantastic! They tasted just like the ones I get from the store. I will make again. I might even try shrimp or salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOPONY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
make sure you wrap your bamboo mat with serand wrap makes easy clean up and if u dont have bamboo mat use just serand wrap its just as easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prolawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great sushi recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States