Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
It's nice to see sushi recipes posted. Thanks for this one. I too do not use sugar in my sushi rice. It seems the seasoned rice vinegar has enough sweetness on its own. Also, my japanese neighbor, (originally from Tokyo) always used Heavy Duty Foil instead of a bamboo mat to roll her sushi. She just smiled at me when she saw my bamboo mat and said "No one really uses these at home in Japan." The foil is easy enough, and no cleaning! Just throw it/recycle it. She taught me that in her neighborhood, a california roll had 3 color components, White/red (the crab), green,( cucumber or avocado) and yellow/orange, (roe, carrot, or she used scrambled egg strips). I always make mine with crab, cucumber, & egg.) My husband lived in Japan for 6 yrs and he likes his sushi with crab, lettuce, and mayo. WHEN SHE CUT THE SUSHI ROLL> She used a serrated knife, and a water soaked paper-towel. She folded up the wet paper-towel and dabbed each side of the knife blade to make it wet..before cutting each individual slice. So the nori would have a clean cut edge (not torn/jagged). I hope any of this info. is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaillysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: S Coffeyville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe is good. It was my first attempt at a roll, and it's surprisingly easy. Bringing the combination of the rice vinegar, sugar, and salt, to a boil and allowing it to cool makes for better consistancy. I used more rice than the recipe called for. And, it's important to note the rice should be fanned down to body temperature before applying it to the nori. I did not include ginger in mine as that is traditionally used as a palatte cleanser after eating the sushi. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A lot of prep work, but tons of fun and very, very good! I made the rice in a rice cooker, it came out perfect! Make sure you use sushi rice as the rice really makes the difference here. Whole Foods had excellent nori sheets, I highly recommend. You can change it up any way you want to. We added lobster tail to some...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good and surprisingly easy to do! This recipe encouraged me to try and make my own sushi and I am glad that I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Did not like nori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I'm not a huge sushi eater, but I really did like this recipe. I took another reviewers advice and made a roll with bacon and avacado. It was my favorite. I will be making this again later in the week using shrimp. Today we used crab, bacon, and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellant...great flavor. I omitted the pickled ginger. This was a huge hit with everone, even my 10 year old. I made the wasabi/mayo sauce that I found on this site...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe! I will say the rice vinegar was a bit strong (next time I may try using only 2 tbs), but we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I didn't have rice vinegar so subbed with apple cider vinegar; wasn't too sweet like some other people thought but maybe that's why. Used a large ziplock bag like one other reviewer recommended...worked great and I could see what I was doing. Had no idea making sushi was this EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe for beginers. THis was my first time attempting to make sushi and my roll ended up about 6 inches in diameter. I guess it will take me a coulpe tries to perfect the art of sushi rolling. I also added cream cheese to my roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States