Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made it for a birthday present and as the main for my parents anniversary. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was my 1st ever sushi roll making recipe. However in saying that, I found a few things that made it difficult. I followed the rice making to a T and will say after nearly 25 minutes on the stove, it looked like porridge. I'll stick to making rice in my rice cooker. The result in which adding the sugar, salt and rice vinegar made it extremely wet, not dry-ish sticky. It also made the nori tear-able. That also resulted in 3 massacred rolls before I realized...strain off the liquid. I even went and sought out sushi videos, just to be clear at what I was doing wrong and it was the rice. Next time, increase the adjustments to 1:1 cup ratio. And follow through with the said amounts of rice vinegar, sugar and salt. I couldn't find pickled ginger anywhere, so I left it out. And another note to help with rolling, I found if I laid down a sheet of plastic wrap over my mat, it helped keep the mat clean and kept my ingredients together when I was assembling and rolling them up. Made for clean, tight and uniformed sushi rolls. Will make again even though the rice components gave me a problem in the beginning. My daughter was happy with the end result and asked me to help her learn. So she could make her own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I make this as a special treat for my kids. I like it but it still lacks something that'll make it seem like the ones I get in a Japanese restaurant. Still a nice taste and super easy to put together. Just make sure to get the sushi rolling mat...it makes all the difference in making a tight and even roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Pretty darned easy and passed the reviews of my sushi-loving family! A little wasabi on the side and it's happenin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KimmerZ
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I'm in HEAVEN!!! Amazing and super simple! Never made these before so I wasn't very good using the bamboo mat. It was easier to roll with my fingers but I only spent a dollar for the mat on Ebay so if you have to have a mat, look there. In addition; I pushed my rice down tight onto the nori with the back of the rice spoon and I think that made it easier to roll. Also, if you use imitation crab meat, get the long pieces. You can unroll them and put them on the rice then put the other goodies on that and roll it all together. Makes for a nice presentation when you cut it too. I didn't bother with making the sauce as I prefer to just put pickled ginger, wasabi and soy on my sushi so that saved some time. If I were to have went to the grocery store(mine has pre-made sushi)and bought the equivalent to what I made I would have easily spent over $50.00! All I had to buy to make about 50 pieces was a cucumber, nori, small bag of rice, an avocado, small bag of carrots, a block of cream cheese and a $2.50 bag of imitation crab meat. (I don't follow recipes so I used more then 4 sheets of nori etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I added matchstick carrots for color and extra crunch. I used Kikoman's Ponzu Sauce as a dip, just awesome! Way better Sushi than my local grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It looks great! I left out the vinegar and sugar (too sweet), the cheapest rice is the best, because it is stickier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had no bamboo mat so I just rolled these using squares of wax paper. Just make sure the rice isn't so hot it weakens the wax paper. I'd drop my rice on it, fold the wax paper over the rice and press it out in seconds. If the shape wasn't right it was was easy to cut off, move the rice and repress. Fold the wax paper close to the rice to make a straight edge. After I rolled it up tightly I pinched the ends tightly together and chilled in the fridge for an hour or more before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
oh my word. I was craving sushi for the longest time and now that I've made it, IT'S SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
We love this recipe. I leave the salt out and cut the sugar in half. We fill with cucumber, carrot or avocado, and cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States