Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Well, I tried this and as is my way completely winged it, I had some already cooked wrong sort of rice. With the addition of the wrong vinegar (balsamic) some soy sauce fish sauce and oyster sauce with sugar mixed in I then spread the rice out on the nori then stuck a couple of fish sticks, some chopped olives, a squirt of alioli sauce then rolled it up with a tea towel. When I tried to cut it everything fell to bits. With the second nori I kept it a bit drier and it worked a bit better. But it tasted great! Oh, and I added toasted seed to it as well because it was there. This I will master with the help of the fridge before cutting and also putting less rice in before rolling! The vinegar thing is key to the taste and fish sauce (thai) added something too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
this recipe is amazing, my group decided on this recipe. ourr ice turned out a little vinergar but other than that it was amazing, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Way to much salt and sugar. I made a batch with 1 full cup of rice. Besides, already enough salt in the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
We made these for a New Year's Eve party with a family who was gluten-free. They couldn't believe how easy these were to make and how tasty. I found out later that soy sauce has gluten in it, however, but everyone at the party loved these. They were the first things to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I'm going to agree with Mommyof2CutiePies after trying this recipe for myself. While the rice vinegar sugar mixture does make the rice taste like sushi rice rather than ordinary bland rice, it is WAY too overpowering and sweet. This was my first attempt at sushi and I thought I would try this recipe since it has such high reviews, but it has left me wondering if either everyone who rated it highly tweaked it, or if they just haven't had good sushi... Again, I wasn't expecting this to come out amazing being my first attempt, but it was simply inedible, even after a second try. I am going to research some more recipes for sushi rice and have to experiment to try to create an edible sushi roll. If you try this recipe out, I would recommend slowly adding the rice vinegar mixture a little at a time to taste. I might even cut a table spoon of sugar out of the mix. Slight tweaking of this recipe may bring it from a 2 star to at least a 4 star if not higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made it for a birthday present and as the main for my parents anniversary. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was my 1st ever sushi roll making recipe. However in saying that, I found a few things that made it difficult. I followed the rice making to a T and will say after nearly 25 minutes on the stove, it looked like porridge. I'll stick to making rice in my rice cooker. The result in which adding the sugar, salt and rice vinegar made it extremely wet, not dry-ish sticky. It also made the nori tear-able. That also resulted in 3 massacred rolls before I realized...strain off the liquid. I even went and sought out sushi videos, just to be clear at what I was doing wrong and it was the rice. Next time, increase the adjustments to 1:1 cup ratio. And follow through with the said amounts of rice vinegar, sugar and salt. I couldn't find pickled ginger anywhere, so I left it out. And another note to help with rolling, I found if I laid down a sheet of plastic wrap over my mat, it helped keep the mat clean and kept my ingredients together when I was assembling and rolling them up. Made for clean, tight and uniformed sushi rolls. Will make again even though the rice components gave me a problem in the beginning. My daughter was happy with the end result and asked me to help her learn. So she could make her own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I make this as a special treat for my kids. I like it but it still lacks something that'll make it seem like the ones I get in a Japanese restaurant. Still a nice taste and super easy to put together. Just make sure to get the sushi rolling mat...it makes all the difference in making a tight and even roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Pretty darned easy and passed the reviews of my sushi-loving family! A little wasabi on the side and it's happenin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KimmerZ
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I'm in HEAVEN!!! Amazing and super simple! Never made these before so I wasn't very good using the bamboo mat. It was easier to roll with my fingers but I only spent a dollar for the mat on Ebay so if you have to have a mat, look there. In addition; I pushed my rice down tight onto the nori with the back of the rice spoon and I think that made it easier to roll. Also, if you use imitation crab meat, get the long pieces. You can unroll them and put them on the rice then put the other goodies on that and roll it all together. Makes for a nice presentation when you cut it too. I didn't bother with making the sauce as I prefer to just put pickled ginger, wasabi and soy on my sushi so that saved some time. If I were to have went to the grocery store(mine has pre-made sushi)and bought the equivalent to what I made I would have easily spent over $50.00! All I had to buy to make about 50 pieces was a cucumber, nori, small bag of rice, an avocado, small bag of carrots, a block of cream cheese and a $2.50 bag of imitation crab meat. (I don't follow recipes so I used more then 4 sheets of nori etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States