Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
Excellent recipe! I've tried it several times using different vegetables. Great with peppers, carrots, and radishes - even canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
The rice turned out just right with this recipe. The "stuffings" are pretty standard and you can adjust them to taste. Very useful recipe for getting started with sushi. Thanks Adam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Aside from the difficulity of rolling the sushi the right way, it's a great recipe. May I also suggest imitation lobster meat in place of crab meat? They cost about the same but they taste quite different. All I needed was easily found at a local grocery store called Meijer, in the Asian food section. Now if I can find a book on Sushi rolling for dummies... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This was our first sushi making experience and it was very successful! This recipe is easy and wonderful! We also did not heat the nori and it was fine. We used sashimi tuna and cream cheese for some variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a good recipie for sushi, however, I usually add a slice of cream cheese (put in freezer for 10 min to harden) and I leave the pickled ginger on the side with the wasabi. If you like spicy rolls, mix the krab with japanese mayo and sriracha chili sauce (avail at asian stores.) Its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
It was very good, but I added toasted sesame seeds to the rice, approximately 2 tablespoons. It added a delicate flavour and texture to the sushi. Also, wetting my hands to handle the rice helped create an even layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Sometimes its hard to keep those bambo mats clean. So what i do is put mine in a zip lock bag or wrap it in seran wrap. It works great and you can just throw away the bag or the saran when done. This recipe is very good and so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I've made these for years and I love them. You can make them with only one item rolled in or combine items in the rolls. I don't like to flake the crabmeat (it's better when you buy the long thin strips - it's more like at the restaurants, easier, and less messy). Go to a Japanese grocery store where you can buy frozen salmon, tuna, roe, etc. for some more variety. Also, I spread a VERY thin line of wasabi on the rice before I put on the avocado etc. It adds a little kick. And make sure when you're spreading the rice on the nori that you leave about a half inch at the end without rice so that when you're tightly rolling and almost at the end, you can wet that bare edge slightly with a little water on your fingertip. That way the roll will hold together. I don't heat the nori. I store it in the fridge, take it out and roll it just like that. I usually cut them into 8 pieces, otherwise they're too big. And when making the rice I add salt to the water instead of adding it after the rice is cooked and I don't put any sugar in it when I add the rice vinegar. Serve with soy sauce with a little wasabi mixed in. Sooooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
this recipe is a must for sushi fans! I cant begin to tell you the money I've been spending a week on sushi! *lol* I make the rolls with the rice in the nori or on the outside. I've watched at the sushi station and figured out after pressing the rice onto the nori, sprinkle sesame seeds and flip it over onto the bamboo mat (wrapped in syran wrap) so the rice is on the bottom and nori ontop. Fill with whatever you want and roll. I've been making the small snack ones with cucumber and carrot in them (nori outside, rice inside), crab salad instead of the crabstick with avacado, shrimp with cucumber and this spicy sauce they make at the sushi station (consisting of rice vinegar, mayo and chilli sauce (the oriental one), the other shrimp one Ive made is shrimp, spicy sauce, avacado and these little crispy rice balls (not sure what they are called but it adds a little crunch) wow are they good! I make these now atleast once a week. If you go to kitchen ect or some place like that, you can pick up a sushi set which has all you need, (bamboo mat, bamboo spoon, rice, wasabi, vinegar, soy sauce, little cook book ect) and its only 30 bucks! well worth it seeing that 9 rolls cost you 5-7 each time. Also, the guy at the sushi station said the trick to perfect sushi is a tight roll! Use the mat and press tight each turn you make with the mat, this will make the rolls tight and things wont fall out or come apart. Good Luck and Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
My sister had to present a project for her japanese class, so she chose to make these sushi rolls for them. Boy were they a hit, she made everyone one and made extras just in case. They were all gone and people were asking for more. Tastes just as good as any restaurants. I had a problem trying to find "short-grain" rice, and then I figured out it was "calrose" rice. That's the rice they use. Don't be fooled by the brands that say "japenese rice" that sell for 3x as much as calrose rice. They're both the same. Anyway, thanks, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States