Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were really good! The rice was perfect. I didn't used flaked crab because I think it's easier to use the "leg-style." Now I just have to work on rolling them better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie Mowry Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My Korean friend taught a group of us to make sushi. This is a good starter recipe, but it is too sweet. I use 1/3 cup regular vinegar, 1 Tbsp sugar and 1 tsp salt. Add just enough of this to the rice to make it sticky (so you may not use it all.) I also add toasted sesame seed to the rice. I have never heated the Nori or used a bamboo mat, and I've never had a problem rolling it. Use this recipe as a base, and change it to suit your taste. It's easy and your friends will be so impressed that YOU made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe! My children have really gotten into the process of making sushi. We have made this recipe exactly, but we have also added cream cheese and/or tuna. Next we plan on trying some smoked salmon. I find the seasoning in the rice a bit strong so I use a little more rice. Even my 4 year old likes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Great recipe I am a sushi nut! I could eat it daily. The only different thing that I do I pulse the crab or lox with a bit of cream cheese then smear in roll. I also like to serve it with plum ginger dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I used this recipe only for the rice of my sushi rolls. I thought the vinegar was way too strong, and there was also a bit too much sugar. I had to make a second batch of plain rice to mix with the sushi rice to dull the taste a bit. Of course, I'm used to sushi from Japan, which is a bit more mild than American sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I loved this!!! I made everything as stated and I thought it was perfect. My husband thought the rice was a little sweet, so I will probably cut down on the sugar next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I was amazed that my kids ate these - AND they LOVED them! I gotta get a sushi mat, though, the towel trick I found didn't roll them tight enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
A good take on the California Roll recipe. Left out the pickled ginger due to personal preferences, but otherwise everything was really yummy! Best served with Wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Perfect flavor, but keep in mind that with every batch of rice the absorbtion of liquid will be different. You should only add a little of the sushi-su mix at a time and taste the flavor as it cooks. Also, take into consideration that the flavor will mellow once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Delicious. My husband and I don't go out for sushi anymore - we make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States