Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I LOVE sushi! In my opinion though, this recipe is way to sweet with a big vinegar taste. I didn't listen to one of the reviews that said it was too sweet.....I regret that now. Luckily, I only made two rolls so it wasn't a big waste. I may try to reduce the vinegar and sugar significantly and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The rice turned out excellent. I used the tempura shrimp recipe from this site and made tempura rolls with avocado, a bit of the imitation crab mixed with mayo and lots of Sriracha & wasabi. So good, a girlfriend & I made about 10 rolls and we had a feast with our fiances. Best of all, it's super inexpensive compared to going out to sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
this is pretty easy, taste great too. I didnt have any rice vinager,so I just left it out, when I was cooking the rice(2 cups) I did add 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil soooo good. It didnt have that sometimes overpowering sweetness to it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Just made it and it came out wonderfully. The rice is exactly the way it tastes and smells in Japan, and the directions clear. I only made the small change of ripping the nori sheet to its roll size before starting to roll, I think my knife was too dull as it broke down the nori and undid the roll. It takes a while to get the hang of how to make a perfect roll, but it was really worth it. I can't wait to surprise my friends with this as an appetizer. Tonight's rolls will only be for me though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LOVE this recipe and use it all the time. I use regular rice (because that is just what I have on hand) and let simmer after adding the vinegar/sugar mixture until it is the desired consistancy. Otherwise it ends up too watery. Having some trouble finding places that supply sushi quality fish so I can expand out from California rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Fantastic! They tasted just like the ones I get from the store. I will make again. I might even try shrimp or salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOPONY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
make sure you wrap your bamboo mat with serand wrap makes easy clean up and if u dont have bamboo mat use just serand wrap its just as easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prolawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great sushi recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I am flabbergasted by all of the positive reviews for this recipe. The proportions are way, WAY off. Look at any other recipe for sushi rice and you will see. This recipe has WAY too much vinegar and WAY too much sugar for the amount of rice used. The end result is a sloppy, wet, sugary mess that doesn't hold together. Also, most other recipes call for heating the sugar/vinegar/salt combination together to blend them, and also for letting the rice rest to absorb the last amount of liquid. This was just awful. I can only assume that everyone else who made this recipe simply ignored all of the errors and did their own thing. This was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this was... ok. I LOVE sushi but the rice was too sweet. And authentically, you don't put pickled ginger INSIDE the sushi... and! NO on the dipping it in teriyaki sauce and wasabi... gotta be soy sauce and wasabi. Nice attempt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMomma92607

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States