Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellant...great flavor. I omitted the pickled ginger. This was a huge hit with everone, even my 10 year old. I made the wasabi/mayo sauce that I found on this site...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe! I will say the rice vinegar was a bit strong (next time I may try using only 2 tbs), but we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I didn't have rice vinegar so subbed with apple cider vinegar; wasn't too sweet like some other people thought but maybe that's why. Used a large ziplock bag like one other reviewer recommended...worked great and I could see what I was doing. Had no idea making sushi was this EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a great recipe for beginers. THis was my first time attempting to make sushi and my roll ended up about 6 inches in diameter. I guess it will take me a coulpe tries to perfect the art of sushi rolling. I also added cream cheese to my roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicous sushi rolls and great for beginers to try out. We had a bit of trouble cutting it, so we decided next time we try it to let it sit in the refrigerator and then cut it. Otherwise the taste was great and I'm sure once we get the hang of cutting it, the sushi will go a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbecks09

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is way too sweet. The sweet of sugar ruins the taste of sushi. Not recommend at all!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This recipe for sushi is perfect! I had some doubts that it'd come out anything like the kind I've bought before, but after adding the rice vinegar/sugar mixture to the rice, and I caught a wiff of the authentic sushi roll smell, OH! I could hardly believe it. :D I made these with california style ingredients: a slice of fake crab, cucumber, and avocado. Then I made the inside-out version, using sesame seeds to keep the rice on the outside from sticking too much. I even chopped up a fake crab chunk into tiny bits, mixed in 1.5 tbsp mayo (miracle whip, really) and a dab of wasabi, used it with the avocado strips, and made another set of inside-out rolls. Delicious! Tastes like the stuff I pay $7+ for at the grocery store or restaurants, but at a major fraction of the cost. Just so you know, I actually used long grain rice (its what I already had in the cupboard) and it worked out very well. I suggest you rinse the rice several times until the water is no longer white or super cloudy. Keep your fingers and knife dipped in water often to keep the rice from sticking. Roll the sushi nice and tight so the insides don't fall out, especially if you do an inside-out roll. AND I didn't use a bamboo mat- large ziplock bags work great, you'll be surprised. For first-timers, just so you know, you roll the sushi with the bag/mat like an army tank's tread- don't roll it into the sushi! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Super easy! Family really enjoyed it. Filling possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. One of my favorite rolls that is always is a hit is my 'Bacon and Avocado' roll. Inside the roll is spicy mayo, 2 or 3 strips of bacon, and avocado slices. A perfect and easy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Wonderful! I use cooked salad shrimp in mine instead of crab meat - another inexpensive and safe alternative to preparing raw fish. Cream cheese is great in them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States