Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicous sushi rolls and great for beginers to try out. We had a bit of trouble cutting it, so we decided next time we try it to let it sit in the refrigerator and then cut it. Otherwise the taste was great and I'm sure once we get the hang of cutting it, the sushi will go a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbecks09

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is way too sweet. The sweet of sugar ruins the taste of sushi. Not recommend at all!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This recipe for sushi is perfect! I had some doubts that it'd come out anything like the kind I've bought before, but after adding the rice vinegar/sugar mixture to the rice, and I caught a wiff of the authentic sushi roll smell, OH! I could hardly believe it. :D I made these with california style ingredients: a slice of fake crab, cucumber, and avocado. Then I made the inside-out version, using sesame seeds to keep the rice on the outside from sticking too much. I even chopped up a fake crab chunk into tiny bits, mixed in 1.5 tbsp mayo (miracle whip, really) and a dab of wasabi, used it with the avocado strips, and made another set of inside-out rolls. Delicious! Tastes like the stuff I pay $7+ for at the grocery store or restaurants, but at a major fraction of the cost. Just so you know, I actually used long grain rice (its what I already had in the cupboard) and it worked out very well. I suggest you rinse the rice several times until the water is no longer white or super cloudy. Keep your fingers and knife dipped in water often to keep the rice from sticking. Roll the sushi nice and tight so the insides don't fall out, especially if you do an inside-out roll. AND I didn't use a bamboo mat- large ziplock bags work great, you'll be surprised. For first-timers, just so you know, you roll the sushi with the bag/mat like an army tank's tread- don't roll it into the sushi! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Super easy! Family really enjoyed it. Filling possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. One of my favorite rolls that is always is a hit is my 'Bacon and Avocado' roll. Inside the roll is spicy mayo, 2 or 3 strips of bacon, and avocado slices. A perfect and easy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Wonderful! I use cooked salad shrimp in mine instead of crab meat - another inexpensive and safe alternative to preparing raw fish. Cream cheese is great in them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe is basically about the rice and it is too sweet and too vinegary. I did not like the taste or texture of this rice. I rolled them inside out because to me they look prettier that way. They looked gorgeous but I did not like the rice taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanYGoldmaN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I'm not a big sushi fan but i've made these rolls several times for my friends and family and they absolutely love them! I also make my rice a little different, using another sushi rice recipe on this website. Also the process of making them is really fun in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I cut way down on the sugar and used a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar. For the roll I used cucumber, avacado, and roasted eel. This was washed down with Korean Soju.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States