Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I wish there were more stars. Sushi is my absolute favorite thing in the whole world. We spend $50.00 for my husband and I each time we go out... or at least we used to. This recipe is seriously just as good as the pricey restaurants and SOOO much cheaper. I made 10 servings of this and fed 4 people till we were all stuffed for $8.00: 1/2 pack Nori $1.00 1/4 5lb bag rice $1.75 1/2 cup sugar $0.40 1/2 cup Rice vinegar $0.80 1 Avocados $1.00 1/2 Cucumber $0.50 1/4 pkg Cream Cheese $0.57 1/4 Lbs Imitation Crab $0.75 1/4 lb Shrimp $1.00 (We don't care for ginger) I got the rice and nori at a local Asian market and the rest at Winco which kept the prices low. You'll need the bamboo mat which is also available at any Asian market and many other stores. Also, soy sauce, sriracha sauce, and wasabi are a must. I put all of the ingredients out buffet style and we just picked out our fillings and had fun sampling the different rolls. I included jalapenos and made a spicy mayo to mix with the crab for a few rolls. I took a roll to work for my boss who also loves sushi and she commented all day about how great it was. I even made a vegi roll for my pregnant friend and she loved it to. I definitely recommend doing a google search and watching a few videos on sushi rolling and making the perfect rice. The rolling is easier than it looks, but making the rice right is the challenge. Have fun and enjoy! I know we will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! The only change I made was that I put the ginger on the side rather than inside the sushi (I'm not a huge fan of ginger) and I halved the sugar. My friends raved about them. They were rather huge, which was unexpected. Giant Sushi - so I found that if I used all of the stuffing it just squished out. I ended up using approximately 3/4 of what was asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have had homemade sushi and restaurant sushi and I didn't care for this. Way, way too sweet. I made it according to directions and my rice was very wet and extremely sweet. I made it again and halfed the sugar and also used less vinegar and it was still really sweet. I couldn't finish my roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
It's nice to see sushi recipes posted. Thanks for this one. I too do not use sugar in my sushi rice. It seems the seasoned rice vinegar has enough sweetness on its own. Also, my japanese neighbor, (originally from Tokyo) always used Heavy Duty Foil instead of a bamboo mat to roll her sushi. She just smiled at me when she saw my bamboo mat and said "No one really uses these at home in Japan." The foil is easy enough, and no cleaning! Just throw it/recycle it. She taught me that in her neighborhood, a california roll had 3 color components, White/red (the crab), green,( cucumber or avocado) and yellow/orange, (roe, carrot, or she used scrambled egg strips). I always make mine with crab, cucumber, & egg.) My husband lived in Japan for 6 yrs and he likes his sushi with crab, lettuce, and mayo. WHEN SHE CUT THE SUSHI ROLL> She used a serrated knife, and a water soaked paper-towel. She folded up the wet paper-towel and dabbed each side of the knife blade to make it wet..before cutting each individual slice. So the nori would have a clean cut edge (not torn/jagged). I hope any of this info. is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaillysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: S Coffeyville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe is good. It was my first attempt at a roll, and it's surprisingly easy. Bringing the combination of the rice vinegar, sugar, and salt, to a boil and allowing it to cool makes for better consistancy. I used more rice than the recipe called for. And, it's important to note the rice should be fanned down to body temperature before applying it to the nori. I did not include ginger in mine as that is traditionally used as a palatte cleanser after eating the sushi. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A lot of prep work, but tons of fun and very, very good! I made the rice in a rice cooker, it came out perfect! Make sure you use sushi rice as the rice really makes the difference here. Whole Foods had excellent nori sheets, I highly recommend. You can change it up any way you want to. We added lobster tail to some...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good and surprisingly easy to do! This recipe encouraged me to try and make my own sushi and I am glad that I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Did not like nori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I'm not a huge sushi eater, but I really did like this recipe. I took another reviewers advice and made a roll with bacon and avacado. It was my favorite. I will be making this again later in the week using shrimp. Today we used crab, bacon, and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States