Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I Love this!! I used this recipe to learn how to make Sushi, and now I make it all the time! It is much cheaper than eating out, and my husband agrees it is restaurant quality! It is fun to make as well. I like trying different ingredients to make my own special rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
AMAZING!!! I had no idea that sushi was sooo easy to make! Already have made it twice- sooooo easy and oh so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
My family had a great time making these together. So easy!! I followed the advice of other reviewers & left the sugar & salt out of the rice, (my rice vinegar had plenty of sugar.) We also added toasted sesame seeds to rice mixture. AWESOME post for a great base recipe and beginners!! Thank you, 1ORANGE1!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Just some tips I have learned from making my own sushi: An easy one to start with would be something simple like a tuna roll. It's easier to roll up. Keeping your hands slightly wet will help with the rice sticking to them. Having a rice cooker is a huge help. Heating the nori isn't required, it'll soak up the water from the rice and become soft and flexible. If you check Borders, they sell a sushi kit with chopsticks, roll recipes, bamboo mat, and little soy sauce dishes. Make sure to get some powdered wasabi, and low sodium soy sauce, and mix a little sugar into it. Sushi soy sauce is less salty and sweeter than regular soy sauce. You need to cool the rice to room temperature before using it. Very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I love making sushi and this recipe is a good basic one if your just starting off. I use a rice cooker to make the rice and the rice I used is calrose rice I put in 1 cup rice and 1.5 cups of water. Always remember that if your using a rice cooker add a half cup more water than the amount of rice you use ex: 2 cups rice you would need 2.5 cups water. When the rice has cooked i add about half tbs of rice vinegar and 3 tsps of sugar then mix while the rice is still warm. For the stuffing I like strips of cucumber, crm cheese, fresh salmon, avocado, and a mixture of flaked crab w/ mayo. I only use half of the seaweed paper that way Im not eating too much rice. After I cover the seaweed with rice I sprinkle it with sesame seeds and flip it over to stuff it. I then roll it on a bamboo mat covered in plastic wrap. The sauces I use is eel sauce (which can be found at your asian market by the name unagi sauce) and spicy mayo (half sriracha and half mayo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I wish there were more stars. Sushi is my absolute favorite thing in the whole world. We spend $50.00 for my husband and I each time we go out... or at least we used to. This recipe is seriously just as good as the pricey restaurants and SOOO much cheaper. I made 10 servings of this and fed 4 people till we were all stuffed for $8.00: 1/2 pack Nori $1.00 1/4 5lb bag rice $1.75 1/2 cup sugar $0.40 1/2 cup Rice vinegar $0.80 1 Avocados $1.00 1/2 Cucumber $0.50 1/4 pkg Cream Cheese $0.57 1/4 Lbs Imitation Crab $0.75 1/4 lb Shrimp $1.00 (We don't care for ginger) I got the rice and nori at a local Asian market and the rest at Winco which kept the prices low. You'll need the bamboo mat which is also available at any Asian market and many other stores. Also, soy sauce, sriracha sauce, and wasabi are a must. I put all of the ingredients out buffet style and we just picked out our fillings and had fun sampling the different rolls. I included jalapenos and made a spicy mayo to mix with the crab for a few rolls. I took a roll to work for my boss who also loves sushi and she commented all day about how great it was. I even made a vegi roll for my pregnant friend and she loved it to. I definitely recommend doing a google search and watching a few videos on sushi rolling and making the perfect rice. The rolling is easier than it looks, but making the rice right is the challenge. Have fun and enjoy! I know we will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! The only change I made was that I put the ginger on the side rather than inside the sushi (I'm not a huge fan of ginger) and I halved the sugar. My friends raved about them. They were rather huge, which was unexpected. Giant Sushi - so I found that if I used all of the stuffing it just squished out. I ended up using approximately 3/4 of what was asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have had homemade sushi and restaurant sushi and I didn't care for this. Way, way too sweet. I made it according to directions and my rice was very wet and extremely sweet. I made it again and halfed the sugar and also used less vinegar and it was still really sweet. I couldn't finish my roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
It's nice to see sushi recipes posted. Thanks for this one. I too do not use sugar in my sushi rice. It seems the seasoned rice vinegar has enough sweetness on its own. Also, my japanese neighbor, (originally from Tokyo) always used Heavy Duty Foil instead of a bamboo mat to roll her sushi. She just smiled at me when she saw my bamboo mat and said "No one really uses these at home in Japan." The foil is easy enough, and no cleaning! Just throw it/recycle it. She taught me that in her neighborhood, a california roll had 3 color components, White/red (the crab), green,( cucumber or avocado) and yellow/orange, (roe, carrot, or she used scrambled egg strips). I always make mine with crab, cucumber, & egg.) My husband lived in Japan for 6 yrs and he likes his sushi with crab, lettuce, and mayo. WHEN SHE CUT THE SUSHI ROLL> She used a serrated knife, and a water soaked paper-towel. She folded up the wet paper-towel and dabbed each side of the knife blade to make it wet..before cutting each individual slice. So the nori would have a clean cut edge (not torn/jagged). I hope any of this info. is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaillysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: S Coffeyville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States