Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Pretty darned easy and passed the reviews of my sushi-loving family! A little wasabi on the side and it's happenin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KimmerZ
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I'm in HEAVEN!!! Amazing and super simple! Never made these before so I wasn't very good using the bamboo mat. It was easier to roll with my fingers but I only spent a dollar for the mat on Ebay so if you have to have a mat, look there. In addition; I pushed my rice down tight onto the nori with the back of the rice spoon and I think that made it easier to roll. Also, if you use imitation crab meat, get the long pieces. You can unroll them and put them on the rice then put the other goodies on that and roll it all together. Makes for a nice presentation when you cut it too. I didn't bother with making the sauce as I prefer to just put pickled ginger, wasabi and soy on my sushi so that saved some time. If I were to have went to the grocery store(mine has pre-made sushi)and bought the equivalent to what I made I would have easily spent over $50.00! All I had to buy to make about 50 pieces was a cucumber, nori, small bag of rice, an avocado, small bag of carrots, a block of cream cheese and a $2.50 bag of imitation crab meat. (I don't follow recipes so I used more then 4 sheets of nori etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I added matchstick carrots for color and extra crunch. I used Kikoman's Ponzu Sauce as a dip, just awesome! Way better Sushi than my local grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It looks great! I left out the vinegar and sugar (too sweet), the cheapest rice is the best, because it is stickier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I had no bamboo mat so I just rolled these using squares of wax paper. Just make sure the rice isn't so hot it weakens the wax paper. I'd drop my rice on it, fold the wax paper over the rice and press it out in seconds. If the shape wasn't right it was was easy to cut off, move the rice and repress. Fold the wax paper close to the rice to make a straight edge. After I rolled it up tightly I pinched the ends tightly together and chilled in the fridge for an hour or more before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
oh my word. I was craving sushi for the longest time and now that I've made it, IT'S SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
We love this recipe. I leave the salt out and cut the sugar in half. We fill with cucumber, carrot or avocado, and cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I wish I had read the reviews BEFORE spending my time on these. I have never eaten sushi so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great Sushi base!! I just did my rice in a steamer and it was amazing with this recipe. Of course, being the sushi junkie that I am, I had ingredients for 6 different rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was the first time I have made Sushi and I loved it. I didn't roll it tight enough and next time i will make twice the rice. Very good and way cheaper than buying it at the restaurant and better than store bought. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States