Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe was a bit disapointing :( I had really high hopes because because of the ingredients and reviews so maybe that was the problem. It really sounded delicious, especially the butter sauce! I make pound cakes quite often (family favorite) and have had some great ones made from recipes on this site, but this one was not so great. After sitting for a day the cake was really dry except for the sauce soaked parts.The only way I would serve this to company is topped with a fruit sauce, like sauteed strawberries and sugar, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thanks. This is an excellent cake and after reading a review that said it did not have much taste I question if they used pure vanilla. This will make a difference. Also, it is better if it is allowed to age for a couple of days. A cake any baker would be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and moist. It was simple to make and I had raving reviews from people who tasted this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect for apple upside down cake. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8X8 pyrex dish. First, I peeled, cored and sliced apples into 8ths. and placed at the bottom of the buttered dish(in a pretty pattern). I then made a caramel sauce, and poured on top of apples. Lastly, I poured the cake batter on top of evreything and baked as usual. Came out fabulously perfect! Can make it using a butterscotch syrup too instead of the caramel. Did not make the sauce that comes with this recipe. I just served with a drizzle of store bought caramel sauce. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This buttery pound cake was fairly moist, and the glaze added interest. I baked it in a 325 degree convection oven for 50 minutes, which was plenty. More baking time would have made it too dry. I gave the recipe 4 stars instead of 5, as I felt that after 3 tablespoons of vanilla, 3 sticks of butter and a cup of sour cream that there should have been a more intense flavour....it just needed more "oommph". However, it was a great base for strawberries and vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Everbody loves this cake - it's always the first to go. The butter sauce makes it rich and delicious. This will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
this cake made a big impression on my guests. i made it for a get together and eveyone raved. i made a mistake and added 1/2 cup too much brown sugar, but it turned out fine. i will definitely make this cake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCOOKS24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
my family loved it this is the first home made cake i have ever made it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great flavor. The texture isn't as dense as a normal butter cake, which I was a little disappointed about. Other than that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Simple and easy. I am thinking about trying this as the base for Petits Four, what do you think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenettiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States