Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Julie King
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I love this cake. Very moist and my family just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie King

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe exactly as is, and it turned out superb. I didnt use all of the butter sauce... I just took a spoon and lightly spread it across the top of the loaf when I took it out of the oven. I want to buy some vanilla bean ice cream tomorrow and re-heat the butter cake and throw a scoop on top! yummy! THANK YOU for such a simple and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinajones87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Made this for my sis, whose name is Susan so it seemed appropriate. Such a lucky find. Yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Hubby didn't care for the cake, but I loved it. He thought there was too much vanilla, and I have to agree. I followed the recipe as written; however, only baked for 60 min. Easy to make. I can see many variations of this recipe being equally tasty. Changing extracts, spices, or using rum. Thanks!...UPDATE: Held up well and stayed moist for the 3 days it took to polish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
If you used the brown sugar, pure vanilla extract and real butter, there is no way this can be tasteless. It's not an IN YOUR FACE taste - it's a nice, warm, soft taste as the name implies. Butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I have yet to make this cake but i surely intend to, my commeng is on the comments. if you cannot be decent do not lreave comments, no one is interested if you fed it to your squirrels, and us ladies do need the fat in some cases and do not need to "lighten up". Be objective, do not be petty, can't wait to try this and it will get a fair respectful review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
this is my first time making a cake from scratch OMG this was the best cake ever hot warm cold its good try it you will try again i did put extra butter because of a review which was a good idea love it n and it wont last long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAMARIS
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
DELICIOUS....NEXT TIME WILL PUT LESS SUGR IN BUTTER SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
IT WAS PREETY GOOD. THE GLAZE WAS AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ke3515

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I saved this recipe to try it and finally did on Friday 14 May 2010 for a training meeting at our church. All of the ladies were from my Sunday school class and they didn't know there would be dessert at the meeting. They really loved it. I did not get one piece which was okay because I ate lots of ice-cream the night before already going above my sugar allowance. I had some scraps from the cake pan and it was slamming. I thought the butter sauce would make it too rich, but it added just the right touch. I think I used too much brown sugar??(I had dark brown) because the cake didn't have the yellow appearance like the picture. THAT however, was not a deterrent. Thanks. I'll do this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States