Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
THIS TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD SEEING AS HOW I WAS NOT ALL THERE IN THE KITCHEN TODAY LOL IT WAS JUST ONE OF THOSE DAYS . HALF WAY THROUGH BAKING I REALIZED I FORGOT TO ADD THE VANILLA AND THE BAKING SODA I WAS PRETTY UPSET WITH MYSELF BUT FIGURED I WOULD HOPE FOR THE BEST! iT BAKED UP BEAUTIFULLY I HONESTLY DIDNT MISS THE VANILLA I SLICED UP THE CAKE AND MADE A STRAWBERRY SAUCE WITH SOME FROZEN STRAWBERRYS I HAD AND TOPPED IT OFF WITH A DOLL UP OF WHIPPED CREAM! I CANT WAIT TO RE MAKE THIS CAKE AS WRITTEN LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a great cake recipe, it is so fluffy, it"s a great hit with my family this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This cake is literally the best thing I have ever tasted in my life. It is so moist, and the butter sauce added from the bottom pushes it into the perfection category. Mmmmm... I used this recipe to compete at the local county fair and I received a purple, the highest ribbon. The judge also commented that it was one of the best things she had ever tasted as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Fresh out the oven it was great but not at all what I was hoping for. It wasn't moist and did not taste like pound cake. I was so disappointed. Don't get me wrong my kids love it! It just wasn't the buttery melt in your mouth slice of heaven I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I made this cake and it was delicious. I am going to make it again but I will substitute the brown sugar for all white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I was surprised with this cake right away it was so moist and delicious. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Excellent cake. My kids and hubby raved about it. Because I'm still trying to lose baby weight, I subbed 1 cup egg beaters for 4 eggs , 3/4 cup Truvia baking sugar for 1 and 1/2 cups white sugar, 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar blend for 1/2 cup regular brown sugar and I Can't Believe it's Not Butter sticks for regular butter. The cake was still very decadent tasting. I can't imagine how wonderful it would be with real butter! I will make it the real way for company and the light way for me! My bake time was 75 minutes and it was perfect. I didn't do the butter sauce because I forgot and just dusted with powdered sugar. It was sweet and delicious and really didn't need to butter sauce, but next time I make this I will try the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Divine! Just made this now and it turned out perfect and so rich! Couldn't wait for it to cool down and just ate it warm with a cup of tea. Used a springform tin, brown sugar instead of white, and milk & yogurt mix instead of sour cream. Bliss :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is an absolutely delicious cake. Moist! Flavorful. Absolutely loved it! Will be making this over and over again, actually making it this evening!! Made a few changes though. Doubled the recipe and used 1 cup sour cream and one cup heavy whipping cream and it came out very moist and soft. Also put in 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and cinnamon. Got a person who said it was a bit too sweet but that's it. This goes into my collection of recipes!! I got 2 12" cakes (which I layered and decorated as a birthday cake for a client) and a small about 6" heart shaped cake out of the doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
this cake is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States