Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe was a bit disapointing :( I had really high hopes because because of the ingredients and reviews so maybe that was the problem. It really sounded delicious, especially the butter sauce! I make pound cakes quite often (family favorite) and have had some great ones made from recipes on this site, but this one was not so great. After sitting for a day the cake was really dry except for the sauce soaked parts.The only way I would serve this to company is topped with a fruit sauce, like sauteed strawberries and sugar, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thanks. This is an excellent cake and after reading a review that said it did not have much taste I question if they used pure vanilla. This will make a difference. Also, it is better if it is allowed to age for a couple of days. A cake any baker would be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and moist. It was simple to make and I had raving reviews from people who tasted this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect for apple upside down cake. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8X8 pyrex dish. First, I peeled, cored and sliced apples into 8ths. and placed at the bottom of the buttered dish(in a pretty pattern). I then made a caramel sauce, and poured on top of apples. Lastly, I poured the cake batter on top of evreything and baked as usual. Came out fabulously perfect! Can make it using a butterscotch syrup too instead of the caramel. Did not make the sauce that comes with this recipe. I just served with a drizzle of store bought caramel sauce. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This buttery pound cake was fairly moist, and the glaze added interest. I baked it in a 325 degree convection oven for 50 minutes, which was plenty. More baking time would have made it too dry. I gave the recipe 4 stars instead of 5, as I felt that after 3 tablespoons of vanilla, 3 sticks of butter and a cup of sour cream that there should have been a more intense flavour....it just needed more "oommph". However, it was a great base for strawberries and vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Everbody loves this cake - it's always the first to go. The butter sauce makes it rich and delicious. This will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
this cake made a big impression on my guests. i made it for a get together and eveyone raved. i made a mistake and added 1/2 cup too much brown sugar, but it turned out fine. i will definitely make this cake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCOOKS24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
my family loved it this is the first home made cake i have ever made it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great flavor. The texture isn't as dense as a normal butter cake, which I was a little disappointed about. Other than that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Simple and easy. I am thinking about trying this as the base for Petits Four, what do you think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenettiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States