Surprise South Beach Mashed 'Potatoes' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
It's really amazing how good this recipe is. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that pured cauliflower can actually substitute for mashed potatoes. Of course, it's not quite the same, but for someone on a low carb diet, this is very satisfying. I followed the recipe exactly (I steamed the cauliflower), but next time I'm going to try adding garlic and Laughing Cow cheese. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wow, I just made these but totally tweaked the recipe based on reviews, and I have to say it is amazing the way I made it! I took one head of cauliflower, boiled it for about 20 minutes, drained it, and put it back in the pot. I added 1/2 a block of fat free cream cheese and about 3 cloves of roasted garlic. Mashed it up, then put it in the blender on the "puree" setting. Then I added 1.5 T of smart balance butter spread, salt, and pepper. It is DELICIOUS, and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
honestly, without having this side-by-side with mashed potatoes, it is quite satisfying. i added a bit of italian seasoning to mine [just as i do to regular mashed potatoes]. i'd also like to mention that if you are careful not to over-steam the cauliflower, and don't over-puree it, the consistency is a bit heavier, like potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
First attempt, they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Fabulous! I've made another version of these before but they didn't turn out as good as these! My non veggie eating husband loved! I did NOT microwave my veggies though...I steamed them w/ a wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are great! I'm on a super strict (low-carb, well, low everything) diet so I omitted the butter and half-and-half and added fresh garlic. I wasn't sure how good they'd be with just mixing steamed cauliflower and seasonings but it was very satisfactory! A+ nature for one great substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this out of a recommendation from my friend. It took me about 2 weeks to get around to it and I wish I didn't wait so long. I think it's delicious and a great low calorie side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vermont Cuban

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I first discovered this recipe in the South Beach diet book a couple years ago. No, its not "exactly" like mashed potatoes, but its a delicious alternative. Low in cals and carbs, and infinite ways to "tweak" this. My 3 yr old even likes these. My suggestion when using frozen, place in a covered microwave safe bowl, nuke for about 7-8 min. Dont add any water, it makes a little bit of juice from the ice. Then you can either mash with a tater masher or puree. I like to add a little liquid margarine, and calorie countdown 2% milk. This doesn't add many cals or carbs and gives a great consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I just love this recipe! It is a perfect substitute for mashed potatoes. You can add or subtract ingredients to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States