Surprise South Beach Mashed 'Potatoes' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
It's really amazing how good this recipe is. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that pured cauliflower can actually substitute for mashed potatoes. Of course, it's not quite the same, but for someone on a low carb diet, this is very satisfying. I followed the recipe exactly (I steamed the cauliflower), but next time I'm going to try adding garlic and Laughing Cow cheese. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wow, I just made these but totally tweaked the recipe based on reviews, and I have to say it is amazing the way I made it! I took one head of cauliflower, boiled it for about 20 minutes, drained it, and put it back in the pot. I added 1/2 a block of fat free cream cheese and about 3 cloves of roasted garlic. Mashed it up, then put it in the blender on the "puree" setting. Then I added 1.5 T of smart balance butter spread, salt, and pepper. It is DELICIOUS, and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
honestly, without having this side-by-side with mashed potatoes, it is quite satisfying. i added a bit of italian seasoning to mine [just as i do to regular mashed potatoes]. i'd also like to mention that if you are careful not to over-steam the cauliflower, and don't over-puree it, the consistency is a bit heavier, like potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
First attempt, they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Fabulous! I've made another version of these before but they didn't turn out as good as these! My non veggie eating husband loved! I did NOT microwave my veggies though...I steamed them w/ a wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are great! I'm on a super strict (low-carb, well, low everything) diet so I omitted the butter and half-and-half and added fresh garlic. I wasn't sure how good they'd be with just mixing steamed cauliflower and seasonings but it was very satisfactory! A+ nature for one great substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this out of a recommendation from my friend. It took me about 2 weeks to get around to it and I wish I didn't wait so long. I think it's delicious and a great low calorie side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIVERAPHX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vermont Cuban

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I first discovered this recipe in the South Beach diet book a couple years ago. No, its not "exactly" like mashed potatoes, but its a delicious alternative. Low in cals and carbs, and infinite ways to "tweak" this. My 3 yr old even likes these. My suggestion when using frozen, place in a covered microwave safe bowl, nuke for about 7-8 min. Dont add any water, it makes a little bit of juice from the ice. Then you can either mash with a tater masher or puree. I like to add a little liquid margarine, and calorie countdown 2% milk. This doesn't add many cals or carbs and gives a great consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I just love this recipe! It is a perfect substitute for mashed potatoes. You can add or subtract ingredients to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States