Surprise Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made these exactly as directed and they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe, sub butter with vege oil, brown sugar with Stevia. Didn't have any buttermilk so sub with low fat milk mixed with lemon juice. Made mini muffins and they are not much of a surprise as the jam bubbled over lol! They get a thumbs up from my 9yr old and I do enjoyed them too. Will definitely make these again. Ty for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
After reading the reviews I decided to forget the jelly and add candied fruit. The wheat germ gave the muffins a gritty texture that I didn't care for and I think there should have been some cinnamon or nutmeg added for flavor. It sounded like a good idea but just didn't do it for us. Thanks for the chance to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Though not pretty (mine came out flat), they were one of the tastiest bran muffins I've had. My husband and kids gobbled them up. I decreased the baking temperature to 375 as others suggested, and mine were done in 20 minutes. The jam did sink almost to the bottom, but not enough to make the muffins stick. I may try leaving out the jam and mixing in raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
[Modified from ange82's review]: (1) Grease and FLOUR muffin tins. (2) 350F for 20min. (3) Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and vanilla. If you don't have liners, flouring the tins is way cheaper and just as good! Everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I thought these were excellent, and so did my family. I followed the recipe as is. The wheat germ added a great nutty taste, and the muffins were moist. My baking time was shorter than the recipe listed- so watch them in your oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
These were pretty good, but a little sour tasting to me. Next time I think I will try with regular milk and a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Kieffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I followed the recipe closely, only using "soured" lactose-free milk and vegetable oil in place of the butter because I was feeding a child with a lactose sensitivity. I used a homemade strawberry freezer jam in these muffins. I did bake the muffins at 350* for 20 minutes, based on other reviews I'd read. For me, these were a mess. I had the same issue that another reviewer had--the jam bubbled through the muffin batter and made a mess all over my muffin tin and in the oven. I don't know what I did wrong but I'm not patient enough to try these again. Not only were these pretty much unedible, I had quite the mess to clean up after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
After reading reviews I learned three things: 1- use liners 2- 350 degrees for 20 min 3- add 1/2 tsp cinn and vanilla. VERY good! I had no spilling and the muffins were moist and flavorful. I win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are great and easy to make...great with homemade jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States