Surprise Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Made them with the 3 times batch, 2 times chocolate. Turned out amazing. A huge hit at my cooking school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tori 97
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
these are great especially if you replace the chocolate with 2 tbsp of cinnamon sugar they will taste a lot like a snicker doodle, don't worry if they crack a little they still taste grand. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
An easy and delicious recipe. I used unsweetened coconut instead of chocolate chips, and did not have parchment paper so I sprayed the pan as I would for any cookie. They came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
OMG! Loved these cookies! So light and fluffy. Turned out great! Loved the litle chocolate chips in there. They didn't last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe was a bit disappointing. I used less sugar than the recipe called for, and half the amount of chocolate chips, yet my meringues still ended up pretty sweet. The texture was nice and light, full of air in the way meringues should be. I had used another meringue recipe for another batch of meringues, so I guess I had too high of a standard going into this meringue challenge. I don't think I'll use this recipe for a while. It tasted a bit like wet cotton candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a perfect recipe for a rookie like me. Perfect. Yehey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookiecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These were great and super easy. I used crushed walnuts instead of chocolate chips. Foil worked instead of parchment paper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This recipe turned out better than I thought it would. While beating the ingredients together the mixture seemed too [for lack of a better word] gooey. I did not add anything to it but decided to see how it would turn out. Sure enough it did. However, instead of dropping teaspoon fulls onto the baking sheet, I used a more creative approach. I found a medium sized heart cookie cutter, sprayed it with pam and placed it on the baking sheet and filled it with the meringue. I smoothed the top then slid the cookie cutter away from the meringue and the meringue held its shape through cooking. My advice though, wait until they are completely cool to handle because they will break and the chocolate will cause a mess, so just be patient until they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
These treats are as lighter than feathers! I changed the recipe a bit though. Made two kinds, one without chocolate and one with. I added 4 tbs of sugar into the ones without chocolate; they were just perfect, crunchy on the outside, and a tiny bit chewy within, perfect. I thought the chocolate ones were a bit on the rich side though, and I used less than the recipe called for. Maybe it's because I ran out of chocolate chips and used chunks instead. But I'll definitely make them again, without the chocolate perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
OHMIGOSH! Surprised indeed! I made as stated and also added 1/4t cornstarch (for a stabilizing agent) and used powdered sugar vs. granulated sugar. I also added appx 1 cup of flaked coconut! They were fantastic! My husband said they were addictive and my son said they were awesome! They disappeared quickly! The chocolate and coconut were great together! The parchment paper really made for easy cleanup! Thanks for such a wonderful post! We'll be making these often! Next time I may also add 1T cocoa powder for a chocolate overload!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States