Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
What an amazing chocolatey flavor! Everybody loved this cake and nobody guessed the secret ingredient (one of the guests thought it had Pepsi in it!) I used the recipe without making any changes. It was easier than I thought from my first read-through and I'll definitely be making it again. I didn't make the frosting but I'll try it next time. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was hosting Thanksgiving this year, and found out pretty last-minute that there was a pumpkin shortage, and was really disappointed... until I found this awesome recipe! I was thinking to myself "Self, how great could a cake really be?" and preceded to make and put this thin, none-too-special-looking cake in the over... and, not expecting too much, I took a bite, and melted. This cake is amazing, and everyone LOVED it. (I even had to hide it when my fiance's band members came over, because darn it, I want awesome chocolate cake for breakfast tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
What a wonderful surprise. The addition of the cayenne pepper really adds a nice savory taste to the chocolate. Great cake recipe, really makes a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I made this with Vindiloo spice (a popular Indian spice) in place of cayanne. I used quite a bit (maybe 1 1/2 tsp) its very spicy but nice. I plan on using chocolate ganache to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Great cake! I actually made them into cupcakes and they turned out great. I did add a little more powdered sugar to the frosing though to thicken it up so it would stay on good. Oh...I also replaced the baking soda with powder and they were just fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Yummy! I substituted ginger for the cayenne pepper, since I was out. Tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Cantero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yowza this is delish! I had a chocolate craving and thought this sounded good, but good grief, good doesn't begin to describe it. I could literally skip the plate, just grab a fork and eat the entire pan. I love the cayenne kick too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GypsyMama
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and it turned out amazing. It was extremely moist. I even let it cook about 35-40 minutes, checking it every 5 minutes over 30. Also, I added a cup of coffee instead of the water, and used a different icing recipe. I used the half tsp of cayenne, and it is not noticeable at all except in the most complimentary way. In some gourmet stores you can buy a chili cocoa powder from South America. I plan on using this next time in place of the cocoa and omitting the cayenne. This will definitely become one of my staple cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyMama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reidsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made this cake exactly as the recipe was written and was very happy with the results. It was a bit more dense than I expected, but still definitely a cake. Out of the 6 people who ate it, 5 noticed the cayenne and thought it was a good addition. My husband had no idea it was there, but loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Was so good, no one could guess there was cayenne in it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States