Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
My husband loved the consistency of this cake. Very easy, and it turned out beautifully. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site and it made a great combination. Next time I will use more cocoa - 1-2 tsp, but my preference is for rich chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was hosting Thanksgiving this year, and found out pretty last-minute that there was a pumpkin shortage, and was really disappointed... until I found this awesome recipe! I was thinking to myself "Self, how great could a cake really be?" and preceded to make and put this thin, none-too-special-looking cake in the over... and, not expecting too much, I took a bite, and melted. This cake is amazing, and everyone LOVED it. (I even had to hide it when my fiance's band members came over, because darn it, I want awesome chocolate cake for breakfast tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GypsyMama
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and it turned out amazing. It was extremely moist. I even let it cook about 35-40 minutes, checking it every 5 minutes over 30. Also, I added a cup of coffee instead of the water, and used a different icing recipe. I used the half tsp of cayenne, and it is not noticeable at all except in the most complimentary way. In some gourmet stores you can buy a chili cocoa powder from South America. I plan on using this next time in place of the cocoa and omitting the cayenne. This will definitely become one of my staple cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyMama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reidsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
What a wonderful surprise. The addition of the cayenne pepper really adds a nice savory taste to the chocolate. Great cake recipe, really makes a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This recipe was ok, but I've had better, and it looks nothing like the the photo (the icing is chocolate, not white). The cook time is much closer to 40 minutes, otherwise it will be undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The best cake EVER!!! I love the hot feeling in your mouth after each bite (not that it was overpowering or anything). It was AMAZING and my friends LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rinney333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Amber Wardell
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Awesome cake. I used Ancho chili powder and instead of the icing listed made cream cheese icing and topped with pieces of a lindt chili dark chocolate bar (one square of chocolate per piece of cake). My cream cheese icing was made with i container of room temp cream cheese mixed with 2 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1/2 cup icing sugar and 1 tablespoon of butter. Add a little milk if this is too thick for you. Stored in the fridge and stayed fresh for a week- everyone said it was the most delicious chocolate cake they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Wardell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
The tastiest (not the prettiest) cake i have ever made, and I have made a lot of cakes. I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream because i forgot to get it at the store. The result was still PERFECT!!!! I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This cake is fantastic! It was so simple to make, turned out great the first time around and the flavour was wonderful. I will probably play with the frosting recipe a bit as I found it to be too sweet but my friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was just 'ok'. I was hoping for a more chocolatey cake. I do like the heat from the pepper. The frosting was good. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States