Surf and Turf - Gulf Coast Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
You know what you get when you combine a grill, a fish basket and 1 pound of bacon? A grease fire. Bacon was burnt on one side and raw on the other. The fish was raw, had to remove fish from basket and put directly on the grill. Bacon was inedible. Not the best recipe to try. Red Snapper was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This one is diff. a keeper! The bacon flavor gives it that extra special touch. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
The bacon was burnt and the fish had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Didn't like this cooking method at all; either bacon was undercooked or fish was dry. I think it woould be much better baked in a foil pouch as another cook suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I used 6 cod fillets and it was delicious! We had a surf and turf dinner with friends and this was excellent! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My family and I love this recipe and have passed it on to friends. We will definitely make this again and again. I am glad you shared this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This meal was great for a warm summer night. My fiance and I had a neighbor over for dinner and we all really enjoyed it! My fish rack for the BBQ wasn't big enough, so I ended up making a big foil pouch. I cooked it on one side for 10 minutes and then 8 on the second side. When we split the pouch open the bacon was cooked but not enough, so we threw it on the grill for a minute or two then chopped it up and sprinkled it over the cooked fish. (FYI - 1 pound of snapper / rock fish is about 5 fillets) Delicious. We served it with the Fresh Tomato Salad recipe, (also found on allrecipes.com) which was a perfect pairing. YUM! We'll definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
The bacon gets crisp with a nice barbeque flavor, the onions soften and caramelize a little, and the fish gets steamed to perfection in the middle with bacon and onion juices! We all loved this dish and will whip it up again for company next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTQUEEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This is one of my more requested recipes with my family. So quick, so easy, so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States