Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Before I give this a whirl, I have a few quick questions for you because the recipe doesn't seem to specify. Are the shells fully pre-cooked, par-cooked or uncooked? And what exactly does the bruschetta add to it? Is it necessary or could something else be substituted. My teenaged daughter has gone vegetarian on me and I'm desperate to find well-rounded meals she'll enjoy. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this for my vegan book club and was disappointed with the recipe. The sauce came out great! Did not stick to the recipe. Did not use sugar in the raw, and used white granulated sure instead. Used about half of the amount of sugar that the recipe called for. Cut back on the choppec tomatoes in the recipe and used more tomato sauce instead. I do not like the idea of a chunky tomato sauce with stuffed shells. So this may be a personal preference. The recipe falls apart with the stuffing. Too much onion and spinach. It just is not worth the time and effort to make. If I was to make this again I would cut back on the spinach, not bother with the pesto. (had to make homemade pesto since everything in the supermarket had either parm ch or romano in it) Instead of the onion I would recommend using garlic powder instead. The directions to the recipe call for placing onion, tofu, spinach and pesto in a blender. Do not do this! You will end up with an unappealing green goo. I recommend blending the tofu with seasonings then adding the spinach to the tofu by hand. This recipe had 5 stars but no reviews. Usually I won't make something unless it has reviews. I decided to make it anyhow. It has potential, but needs some tweeking. Overall, it was a dissappointment making it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This got raves at my house with just a couple of tweaks! The previous review was helpful, and I altered the recipe by seasoning the tofu in the blender and then adding the spinach. I also omitted the onion, and used about twice as much pesto to get a smooth consistency. Next time, I may blow off the blender and just mush all the filling ingredients up in the plastic bag. I subbed diced tomatoes w/garlic, basil & oil for the bruschetta, cut the sugar to 1 T (and used white granulated), and used crushed tomatoes instead of the chopped. And I cut the garlic to about 1 T, as the tomatoes also had garlic. I did NOT boil the shells at all, and baked it about 30 minutes until they were tender (I used a stoneware baker). After 20 minutes they were not done when poked, but the added 10 minutes did the trick, so be sure to test! I used regular Mozzarella, since my vegan kid was not home. The meat eaters I served it to loved it, and I did not spill the beans about what they were eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I saw this recipe prepared on Allrecipes.tv, and it looked really good - it is! The adults in the house loved it, the kids, not so much (maybe because they saw the part of the video about sneaking veggies into the stuffing mix... they were suspicious). I really like the pesto in the stuffing, I used fresh kale instead of spinach, and I added some salt. For the sauce, I used only 2 T sugar. I skipped the cheese on top... it was quite awesome on it's own. Thanks, NJChick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mesa Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Wow! I'm absolutely AMAZED at how DELICIOUS this was. I wish there was a way to give it more than 5 stars! We are new to the Vegan world so we are very selective with what we're eating. EVERYONE in this house - including my picky eater (!) ate this dish. Here's how I changed it for our family -- I doubled the garlic; used crushed tomatoes instead of chopped; omitted the bruschetta (not sure why it was suggested - didn't miss it); left out the spinach (I can't eat cooked spinach or any similar cooked leafy greens) but included it in the side salad; doubled the pesto, and used "Daiya" brand mozzarella-style "cheese" (I refuse to use any other Vegan "cheese" as none compares). We are having a houseful of family over next weekend and have already decided this complete meal (shells, salad, garlic bread, and homemade Vegan cupcakes) will be making a return, with plenty of seconds, I'm sure! A must to try. Oh, and about the red sauce - so perfect that I plan to make it for any pasta dishes that call for red sauce! We lapped it up just with our bread as a snack it was so good! Thanks, NJChick. You hit this one out of the ballpark. WINNER for everyone... not just Vegans =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe after reading the reviews and tweaks.I was skeptical about this recipe after I prepared the filling and tasted it, but my husband and I loved it after it was baked. I prefer fresh/dried ingredients to canned so I used fresh chopped tomatoes along with sun dried tomatoes in the sauce. I also seasoned the sauce with garlic powder, onion salt and italian seasoning. I omitted the bruschetta and used agave nectar in place of sugar. I also used cranberry pomegranate juice in place of red wine. For the filling, I omitted the onion and added marinated artichokes. I also used fresh baby spinach. I put the spinach and artichokes in the food processor and processed them until they would not process any more and set them aside. Then I put the tofu in the food processor and added seasoning salt, italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt free all purpose seasoning, and savory blend all purpose seasoning. I then folded in the tofu mixture with the spinach/artichoke mixture and also folded in the pesto. (I think stirring it would have made it a goulish looking mess). I used an icing spatula to insert the filling into the uncooked pasta shells and arranged then on the bed of sauce, covered them with sause and baked for 20 minutes. I then let it sit in the oven until I was ready to finish baking it for dinner. When I was ready to finish baking it, I added a top layer of cranberry pomegranate juice on the top of the sauce and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raindropp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. For those of you who do not know, the shells are baked without boiling. My daughter has been vegan for 6 months and I am always on the hunt for good tasting and healthy foods. This is a winner but I did change some things, I did not add sugar and I used fresh spinach after processing the tofu with pesto (you can find pesto without cheese at Trader Joe's).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeganLove92
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Flawless recipe! Fun to make if you have someone who wants to help in the kitchen, not to mention a fail-proof vegan dish that will become addicting to everyone at the table! This is a recipe everyone-- vegan or not-- must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeganLove92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipe is just AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
These were easy to make and the whole family loved them, even my picky eater who loves nothing I usually cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States