Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I've never tasted apple butter before but with a 40 lb box of fresh Okanagan McIntosh apples, I thought I'd give it a try. I had to tweak the recipe a bit - plain brandy instead of apple brandy and apple juice instead of cider, with a crock pot time of nearly 18 hrs, but was the finished product ever amazing!!! Friends who tried it are hungry for more, so I'm preparing a second, and possibly even third batch with the remaining apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kelso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Let me add to the growing number of 5-star reviews. Like a few other reviewers, I couldn't resist tweaking it a bit. While the chopped apples (I used Pink Lady apples) soaked in lemon juice, I simmered the peels in the concentrate and cider for an hour. This liquid was strained and the peels pressed, and THAT amber-red liquid was added (plus a little more cider to make up for loss) when the apple chop was cooked. Oh, I also added scrapings from one vanilla bean in my 3x quantity. With the firm apples I used, I still had some chunks after the 3 hours of simmering. So I blended at the end. Next time, I will chop the apples more finely. Lovely golden-red color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe! Since the Macintosh apples are out of season, I used Pink Lady apples and it turned out great! It wasn't very creamy, but, OH MY GOSH, is this apple butter delicious! I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. But, since I want to create my own apple butter recipe, I will use this one to build on. I can't wait for the Macintosh apples to come back in season. This is the recipe to end all apple butter recipes. This is a golden one. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've never made apple butter, but have made my fair share of applesauce. With that being said, I was very skeptical it was going to turn out to a more runny, applesauce consistency.....boy, was I wrong! It's thick and VERY tasty! The only thing I changed was that I used regular Brandy in place of the apple Brandy, as its what I had on hand. It landed a fantastic taste to it, too! I'm excited to can a bunch of it this next fall! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have been making this every year for at least ten years. I don't use apple brandy but substitute with additional apple cider. The taste and texture are indeed supreme. And it smells so good cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great recipe. Of course I never really follow a recipe just use it more as a guideline. I had about 16 apples cored them (I left the skins on) and put them in the crockpot with 2 packets of apple cider mix and 1 cup of water. Turned it on low for 10 hours while I was gone for the day. Upon return they were all cooked down and smelled wonderful. I put them in our magic bullet and blended them all up until smooth. I then put them in a sauce pan on the stove and mixed in half the thawed cider , cinnamon, ginger and brown sugar. Stirred and heated until warmed and put into sterile jars. Turned out beauitfully. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khmowell
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I ended up with 4 pints. I will be making more. I did add more spices to it, but that's who I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I could not find apple brandy. What I did was increase the apple cider amount by a half cup and used a half cup of Fireball Whisky. I took Barb's advice and cooked this in the slow cooker for about six hours. Turned out absolutely perfect. One of the best apple butter recipes I've made. Smells AMAZING when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Just finished making my 1st batch! my house smells wonderful & this recipe could not have been easier! i adjusted the spices to my family's liking, subbing allspice in place of cloves & reducing the ginger to 1/4 tsp. & i also could not find Macintosh apples in my area, so i used Honeycrisp apples instead... will definitely use this recipe for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States