Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was so tasty ( I might go get some right now) The flavor was right on it was super easy to make. I didn't have brandy so I used cider instead. I used McIntosh apples and kept everything as stated. When it stated to cook until easily mashed it confused me as to whether or not to mash then or later, so I partly mashed the apples and continued to simmer the last 2 hours before pureeing to my liking at the end with my hand blender thing. (can't think of its name!) Will definitely be making this again! I served it with Cinnamon Bread I from here also.......pure wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Used regular brandy instead of apple brandy, and it tastes great! Best apple butter I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Michael Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I've never tasted apple butter before but with a 40 lb box of fresh Okanagan McIntosh apples, I thought I'd give it a try. I had to tweak the recipe a bit - plain brandy instead of apple brandy and apple juice instead of cider, with a crock pot time of nearly 18 hrs, but was the finished product ever amazing!!! Friends who tried it are hungry for more, so I'm preparing a second, and possibly even third batch with the remaining apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kelso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Let me add to the growing number of 5-star reviews. Like a few other reviewers, I couldn't resist tweaking it a bit. While the chopped apples (I used Pink Lady apples) soaked in lemon juice, I simmered the peels in the concentrate and cider for an hour. This liquid was strained and the peels pressed, and THAT amber-red liquid was added (plus a little more cider to make up for loss) when the apple chop was cooked. Oh, I also added scrapings from one vanilla bean in my 3x quantity. With the firm apples I used, I still had some chunks after the 3 hours of simmering. So I blended at the end. Next time, I will chop the apples more finely. Lovely golden-red color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe! Since the Macintosh apples are out of season, I used Pink Lady apples and it turned out great! It wasn't very creamy, but, OH MY GOSH, is this apple butter delicious! I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. But, since I want to create my own apple butter recipe, I will use this one to build on. I can't wait for the Macintosh apples to come back in season. This is the recipe to end all apple butter recipes. This is a golden one. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've never made apple butter, but have made my fair share of applesauce. With that being said, I was very skeptical it was going to turn out to a more runny, applesauce consistency.....boy, was I wrong! It's thick and VERY tasty! The only thing I changed was that I used regular Brandy in place of the apple Brandy, as its what I had on hand. It landed a fantastic taste to it, too! I'm excited to can a bunch of it this next fall! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have been making this every year for at least ten years. I don't use apple brandy but substitute with additional apple cider. The taste and texture are indeed supreme. And it smells so good cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great recipe. Of course I never really follow a recipe just use it more as a guideline. I had about 16 apples cored them (I left the skins on) and put them in the crockpot with 2 packets of apple cider mix and 1 cup of water. Turned it on low for 10 hours while I was gone for the day. Upon return they were all cooked down and smelled wonderful. I put them in our magic bullet and blended them all up until smooth. I then put them in a sauce pan on the stove and mixed in half the thawed cider , cinnamon, ginger and brown sugar. Stirred and heated until warmed and put into sterile jars. Turned out beauitfully. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khmowell
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I ended up with 4 pints. I will be making more. I did add more spices to it, but that's who I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States