Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I loved the taste of this apple butter! Really nice. (I did it without the apple brandy and used apple cider instead.) I also used a handheld mixer to make the texture creamier. The original serving size, 96 serv., will make 15 half-pint containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This apple butter is amazing! I multiplied the recipe by 7, making 21 jars to give as Christmas gifts-I was peeling, chopping and cooking ALL day! The aroma in my house was incredible-my husband said he was hit by a 'wave of apple heaven' when he walked in from work. The only complaint we have is the cost of the apple brandy. To make 21 jars we spent $40 on brandy- it's great apple butter, but maybe I'll use 1/2 and 1/2 cider and brandy next time to cut our cost. I also changed the spice amounts- I reduced the ginger to 3/4 tsp., upped the amount of cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp., kept the cloves the same, and added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and two pinches of cardamom per recipe. Lastly, I chopped my apples coarsely, and think next time I'll chop them finer-or when the recipe says 'cooked until easily mashed' I'll mash them-the recipe wasn't specific about that. Thankfully, I had my boat motor (hand blender), and I just pureed it when it was all done cooking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Very tasty recipe, but one can NOT stress the importance of watching it carefully throughout the cooking process. I followed the recipe religiously and badly scorched my first batch. Also, I would suggest straining the apple mixture through either a fine/medium China Cap sieve, foley food mill or even a potato ricer to give it that perfect consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This recipe is wonderful. I subsituted apple brandy for apple cider because I couldnt find the brandy and it tastes heavenly. It is very popular in my house. Definitely something to put on the table for Thanksgiving dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Used a slow cooker-- on low for about 6 hours-- and it turned out great. Couldn't find apple brandy in our area so substituted regular brandy. Was a waste of booze, the regular brandy didn't change/add to the flavor (would have been ahead to drink it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I was raised in the south where apple butter is big. This is by far the best I have ever eaten. It is delicious apple butter with a little kick from the brandy and the spices. Everyone in my family loved it, and I plan on making more to give as Christmas gifts. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe unless it would be to double or triple it, because it won't last long. It's great on biscuits, toast or anything for that matter. Thank you so much for the recipe. It's a keeper, and I plan on making it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very flavorful apple butter. I used core recipe. Left apple skins on, used brandy, tweaked the spices. Used raw apple juice from farmers market. Put in crock pot and when I got home from work it was ready for jars. Hubby says it's one of the best apple butters he has tasted. I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
i must say, this apple butter is So good. if you are looking for a recipe, this is it. i did what the other person said - used apple juice instead of apple brandy and it was WONDERFUL! thank you whoever made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I give the taste a 5 and the texture a 2.5 - 3. The texture was more like a very thick applesauce than a true apple butter. The taste was wonderful after I tweaked the spices - just a dash of ginger, 1/2 t allspice and 1 1/2 t cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This makes a great apple butter. I got about 7 jars per batch and used the apples I had which were really small, not crabapples but about that size. They had a flavor similar to Granny Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAYA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States