Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
very good! easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is the best apple butter recipe I have ever run across. I have been making apple butter for years and everyone thought it was great but this meets a new high. I made a few changes in that I first make fresh applesauce and I cook it over night in my slow cooker with the lid vented so it will cook down and the next morning is is ready to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was incredible. Followed the recipe exactly and periodically smashed the mixture with a potato masher. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
There are no words for how good this is. I didn't have apple brandy, so I subbed apple cider. I also didn't have frozen apple concentrate, used 1/2 cup or so of apple juice instead. Didn't measure the spices, just shook them in the crock pot, used more cloves and other spices than called for. I cooked it with the lid on the crock pot over night (about 12 hours total), then another 12 hours with lid off. It could have cooked longer with lid off, but I got impatient and wanted to jar it. I have never had anything I love better made out of apples than this. Store bought apple sauce doesn't even come close to comparing. This stuff ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I never knew how easy it is to make apple butter! I subbed Apple Pucker Schnapps for the brandy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Recipe was wonderful. My kids are hooked on Applebutter now. Did simmer much longer that suggested - until I received the thickness I was looking for. I also skipped the applebrandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARLIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I expected out-of-the-ordinary taste and texture, given the ingredients list. But mine just tasted like the usual apple butter. To be honest, I had to substitute "Apple Jack" for the brandy. The only apple brandy I could find was Calvados, and at $50 a bottle, it just wasn't going to happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
very good. I ran the apples through a food processor in the beginning to reduce cook time. Turned out very good and thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This apple butter recipe was a BIG hit at our Thanksgiving!! No reason to change the ingredients at all. The apple brandy is a must. After simmering for the initial hour I ran it through a blender. Then returned it to the stock pot and simmered it for 7 hours. The texture was perfectly creamy and thick like it should be. The recipe calls for just 2 hours of simmering but I found that it needed 7 hours to get the right consistency. I'll be making this recipe every year. No reason to search for another or modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
WOW! This apple butter is amazing. I have never had apple butter before, and I wanted to make is to go in the Apple Butter Pork recipe that is also on this site. 5+ stars for sure. What I did was half the recipe (I didn't want to make too much), and I used more apple cider instead of the apple brandy, but only half of what the recipe states. I also used more cinnamon, and a little less ginger, and added a bit of nutmeg. After the first step I used a hand mixer to break up the apples, and after it was completely cooked I put it in a food processor to get the right consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States