Super Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a great side dish with enchiladas and mexican rice. As other reviewers suggested, I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and added some cilantro. Excellent dish will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
it needs less sugar, i would suggest only a 1/4 cup of sugar and not 1/2 but otherwise the salsa is absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very delicious and quick to make. I would use a sweet onion next time and I added a can of diced tomatoes and some celantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Came across this recipe today while searching for a side dish to take to a Memorial weekend BBQ later. I had every ingredient on hand. It literally was done in 10 minutes. I used 1 can yellow corn and reduced sodium black beans drained. In a small bowl, I mixed 1/8 cup sugar with 1/2 cup rice vinegar and popped it in the microwave for 20 seconds to get the sugar to blend before tossing into the mixture. This is a tangy/sweet salsa that would go great on top of grilled chicken or fish. This makes a pretty presentation. What a gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
In Montana this is Cowboy Caviar. We do cut the sugar in half and add cilantro. And whatever beans we can find in the pantry just to give it a mysterious quality. We make bowls and bowls of it for the BBQs and never have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Wonderful! Absolutely perfect for a summer picnic or outdoor BBQ. No mayo or dairy to spoil and it gets better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Super Summer Salsa Haiku: "First day taste OK. Second day, salsa heaven! Just a few changes." So, without a doubt, I was floored at how much better this tasted the 2nd day, after it had had ample opportunity to fridge flavor-mesh. I didn't have rice wine vinegar (used red wine vinegar) and although I was skeptical at following another reviewer's suggestion of fresh basil (I would typically use cilantro w/ black beans), I was amazed at how wonderful the basil complimented the vinegar. Oh and I had to use green bell instead of red. Small changes aside, this was out of control rad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I also cut the sugar in half, as many other reviewers recommended. I brought it to our Easter gathering yesterday, and everybody made a comment about how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is a great side dish to mexican foods or hamburgers and hot dogs. I like using the mexicorn and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States