Super Summer Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT! I have been looking for like a recipe like this for years! I like to decrease sugar, so I only added 1/3 cup white sugar--the raisins and craisins were sweet enuf! I didn't have all the listed ingredients so I added flax seeds and to save time--I chopped up the carrots, red onions, some basil and 2 cloves of garlic in my food processor---quick, easy! I did not add fruit to it--it is still delicious! Thank you for a great base recipe to tweek!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I'm glad I waited to review this bc this salad gets better after it sits. I WANT to love kale but I don't. It's a texture thing for me but I gobble down this salad. I accidentally used up my last red onion before I made this so I omitted it but it is still fantastic! I made it before be the other night and brought it out in the morning just to taste in and ended up having a big bowl of it for breakfast! Just had another big bowl today...YUM. the textures and flavors are awesome. I put 1/2 the dressing on the salad and reserved the rest but it doesn't need the rest. its really great as is. WILL make again and definitely sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This salad was awesome! I made it for a potluck for work and it was the first to be completely devoured! Many admitted they were skeptical when I offered to bring a kale salad but all have asked for the recipe! I used White Balsamic Vinegar and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cu and could have gone with even less. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
So delicious! Make sure to assemble it ahead of time to let the kale soften and the flavors develop. I have made it twice now and my family really enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is wonderful! I took the advice of several others and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and used white balsamic vinegar for the dressing. I also grated a head of red cabbage and added that to the salad. I didn't have cashews or sesame seeds so substituted 2/3 cup sliced toasted almonds along with the craisins. This salad is not only really beautiful (with the green kale and red cabbage) but it tastes fantastic! My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Regan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Kale is a lettuce that we are trying to enjoy. In our case, it is an acquired taste. DH and DS are still working on the bitterness of the leaves, but not ready to give up on it. I made this for a birthday carry-in at work, and it was well received. I did cut the sugar back to ¼ cup and it worked well. It is a very pretty salad with all the colors going on. Making the salad 4 – 6 hours ahead of time is a must. The kale needs time to soften up. The next time I make it, I will make it the night before and add the cashew pieces and sunflower seeds right before serving. This is very good, pretty and by cutting the sugar back pretty healthy for you. Thank you, Susan, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
It is an easy recipe to make and packed full of great nutrients. However, the recipe said it makes 20 servings. I was skepical about makeing it at first but as I read through the ingredients it didn't seem like it would feed 20 people. After assembling it I realized that as a side dish it will probably feed more like 8-10 people if they each ate about a 1/2 cup serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
For the folks who find traditional kale bitter, try using lacinato kale (also known as Tuscan kale). It is much better suited to be eaten raw and stands up well to dressing. I was able to find it at Whole Foods Market. If it still isn't palatable for you, baby spinach and arugula mixed would make a wonderful substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BstnBny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This was really good (just don't eat it right before a run!) even without any of the sugar. I was going to reduce the sugar and then decided to eliminate it altogether and see how it turned out--still delicious and even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Yummy! This is a salad you can add other things to. I like adding chopped green cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States