Super Summer Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
We LOVE this recipe and it is super easy to make. It makes a large batch and the left overs are good for a few days. FYI on the salad ingredient list – I didn't measure. The dressing I follow as stated. The dressing makes extra and is really good on regular salad too. 1 – bunch of Kale = 1 bag from Kroger (I assumed this is larger than 1 bunch of kale so I increase the other ingredients) Edamame = 2 frozen packs (not sure of the size) Onion = at least ½ maybe even 3/4 Carrots = a little more than a cup Blueberries = fresh BB, 2 packs Craisins = 1 cup Nuts = close to original (use whatever kind I have on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Got it on a whim last week at from that national supermarket chains' deli. Wanted something a little different than my great but common slaw with my beef brisket. LOVED IT BIG TIME! I was going to try to duplicate it...good to find those few ingredients I missed from you! I'm going to try using dried blueberries and re-hydrate. That way, I have all the ingredients on hand, at all times...all I need to do is grab some fresh kale on the way home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So good! Used splenda instead of sugar and pomegranates seeds instead of dried cranberries. Delicious. Will be a regular at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I didn't have regular vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar! Worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is absolutely fantastic!! The only thing I did differently, after the 1st time making it, was I decreased the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I think this salad would be great with less sugar. I tried it and felt uneasy about using 3/4 cup sugar, so I used 1/2 cup sugar, still too much sugar. I am not that picky, but when eating vegetables you don't want it super sweet, a touch of sweet is all that is necessary. Next time I will start with 1/8 cup and see how that is. Can't even imagine what it taste like with the 3/4 cup, so beware start with a small amount of sugar and work up if the taste isn't right to you. I still ate it, because of all the good stuff in it, to me its an awesome salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is so good - everybody loves it, and my 12 year old kale-hating son even asks for 2nds. I cut back on the sugar and use whatever vinegar I have on hand. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Kale is a lettuce that we are trying to enjoy. In our case, it is an acquired taste. DH and DS are still working on the bitterness of the leaves, but not ready to give up on it. I made this for a birthday carry-in at work, and it was well received. I did cut the sugar back to ¼ cup and it worked well. It is a very pretty salad with all the colors going on. Making the salad 4 – 6 hours ahead of time is a must. The kale needs time to soften up. The next time I make it, I will make it the night before and add the cashew pieces and sunflower seeds right before serving. This is very good, pretty and by cutting the sugar back pretty healthy for you. Thank you, Susan, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I am addicted to this salad. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/3 cup splenda and it was great. I chopped my kale well so it isn't real leafy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love it! More importantly, my 6 year old and my husband ate the salad without a complaint! Now, I can serve kale!!! Thank you for sharing. My husband loves the dressing and we have used it on our regular salad because it's his new favorite. I used Peanut oil and Olive Oil mixed instead of all Olive Oil. I did not have sunflower seeds and substituted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States