Super Summer Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm getting ready to make this for the 3rd time this summer. Excellent salad recipe, although I did cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I just made this a few days ago and thought it was perfect. I did not add the edamame only because I did not have it at home. Next time I make it I will add a little less sugar- just a tad on the sweet side. Great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
For a lower carb count and slightly healthier version, I used 1/4 cup agave in place of the sugar. For simpler preparation, I used baby kale because it doesn't require chopping (I also think it is easier to eat and doesn't need to sit with the dressing as long). I used sliced almonds in place of cashews. And I left out the edamame and raw onion. A few hours ahead, I mixed together the dressing, kale, carrots, and dried cranberries. Just before serving, I tossed in the almonds, blueberries, and sunflower seeds. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Wow! I bought 2 bunches of kale at the farmer's market because it's good for you, but wasn't sure how to make it appetizing without cooking. This recipe is such a keeper; even my husband liked it. And it's so versatile. I didn't have edamame, red onion, carrot, dried cranberries, cashew pieces or sunflower seeds. So the salad ingredients I used were purple kale, sweet Walla Walla onion, blueberries, dried tart cherries and chopped pecans. I made the dressing per the recipe and had extra to make this again, which will be today since we have another bunch of kale. Thanks, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was so good! My husband and I fought over the last bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is sooooooo good! I make it the night before if I can, but don't add the seeds and nuts. I am always asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Lovely salad but I only used 1 Tbsp of sugar. I can't imagine using 3/4 cup of sugar and not sure how that much would even dissolve. I also used mixed greens because I didn't have kale and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very good. Made with 1/2 the sugar and freeze dried blueberries. Who knew Kale could taste so good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a winner. Went over well at a party. Great the next day too. Cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. 3/4 cup is just not necessary for a great taste. I used apple cider vinegar. You do need to make it ahead or the kale will not be soft enough. I used walnuts instead of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Just wanted to say that the place I work and have been working at for 9 years makes the salad that you put up. Its called the Super Food salad and it is sold at a national grocery store at the chefs case. It is a great salad and in the dressing there is no sugar at all. Just the raw items and the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States