Super Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very nice and tasty! Sure seems like alot of squash, but it cooks down nicely. I would definately recommend using a 9x13 pan as what I considered a "medium" baking dish wouldn't hold it. And I chopped my (2 kinds) of squash pretty small as someone recommended. My family all loved it and we aren't big squash eaters especially. Had wonderful flavor and texture, nice comfort food. Pretty easy to make too! I've saved it to my recipe box - it'll be one of my regulars, especially for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Let me say....AWESOME RECIPE...My boyfriend's mother had extra squash that people at church gave her and she gave me some. I just cut up 3-4 and used exact measurments, was not oily at all. I have made this 4 times already this summer, and close to one of the best recipes on this site!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I would recommend insteads of just chopping the squash to FINELY chop the squash and also use herb stuffing mix. The recipe itself is great with a wonderful flavor but the squash needs to be finely chopped. This is from a person who does not like squash and my 4 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
My SIL made this recipe for our Thanksgiving meal. She altered the recipe to include Ritz crackers instead of saltine crackers. It gave it a richer taste and was absolutely to die for. A must have recipe for holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Even my hubby (who says he doesn't like yellow squash) liked this one! I used "butter buds" instead of butter in the squash so I could add bacon with the other ingredients. I did use the butter in the topping though...a girl is only willing to sacrifice so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe. I took it to a Christmas party and everyone wanted the recipe.It makes alot. I also added extra cheese. and used green and yellow squash for color. Excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This is a great squash recipe. I just had to double the amount of cheese. I couldnt help myself. Great texture and flavor. This one is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
ONe of the reviews stated this was dry and blah. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a delicious moist and yummy casserole. ONe tip is to put a lid on your pan when you are cooking the squash and onions together. This keeps the moisture in the pan. Just be careful not to leave too much juice as your casserole can be runny. I would cook the first half with a lid on and then remove the lid so some of the liquid evaporates into the air. Then add your cheese, etc. If for some reason it may seem to runny after you have added cheese and other ingredients a few extra crackers will help. ( I used ritz crackers) Also baking with or without a cover makes a difference in the crunchiness of your topping and the dryness of your casserole. I actually added a little bit of water to my stuffing along with the butter to make it a tiny bit moist. Don't add too much though, just a tablespoon or so. Anyhow, I encourage you to make it, and pay attention to these things, then the 2nd time you make it will be perfect. The flavor is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This stuff is delicious! I made it exactly by the recipe and my boyfriend and I ate more of it late at night and even the next morning. We could not get enough! Yum...I'm thinking I may want some more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Boy, did this take me back! Many years ago, in desparation during a squash "explosion" in my garden I created a similar dish. Think I may have used Italian dressing mix for the base instead of ranch. Try it for a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States