Super Spicy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I try to eat healthy & yummy, but on a budget its tough. Great just like this, but then I halved the mayo and cheese, threw in a can of tuna and put it on whole wheat. WOW! This is my new tuna salad. And I can't wait to make more variations on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've made this salad alot down through the years. Celery is a nice addition to it. Other cheeses are also great in it. Cheddar, feta. Use what you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yum! I used frozen peas, thawed. I needed low fat so I left out the cheese and egg and used only 1 Tbs. of mayo with 2 Tbs. of plain yogurt, seasoned with a little Old Bay. Threw in a can of tuna too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This salad is great! Unfortunately I didn't have any pickle relish, but I didn't really miss it. This wasn't too terribly spicy... just enough spice for me. If you think of the heat of the salad in terms of salsa grade spiciness, I'd say this is medium. What a great alternative to the ordinary picnic salads! The sweetness of the peas really compliments the spice of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is fantastic! The only thing I did different is to add quite a bit of chopped dill pickle instead of the relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracykay122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I really love this. I wanted to make for my lunches so I added a can of chicken. I left out the onion and used red pepper. I used frozen peas and that worked great. I also used cheddar cheese. Can do just about anything to make it your own. A really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I haven eaten a canned pea since I moved away from my parents' house when I was 19, and I wasn't about to revisit them, so I used a one-pound bag of frozed peas, thawed, instead. This didn't seem particularly spicy to us, maybe my jalapeno was abnormally mild even though I didn't take the seeds and membrane out of it. I used a combination of reduced fat mayo and fat free sour cream and did not add any cheese only to keep the weight watchers points down. I cut up a big ol' kosher dill pickle instead of using relish, and I hesitated about putting in the egg, but compromised and used two hard boiled egg whites (I fed the yolks to the cats). We loved the combination of flavors, but next time I'll make sure my jalapeno has some punch. Thanks so much for the post, Shunpr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Loved this!! I used thawed, frozen petite peas instead of the canned - very fresh and I'll definitely make this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
quicker to make than potato salad tastes great and has more vitamins cyl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Loved it! I left out the egg & pickle and added an extra jalapeno, sunflower kernels & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States