Super Spicy Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
A serious crowd-pleaser! Has that 'vintage charm' but tastes surprisingly new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I haven eaten a canned pea since I moved away from my parents' house when I was 19, and I wasn't about to revisit them, so I used a one-pound bag of frozed peas, thawed, instead. This didn't seem particularly spicy to us, maybe my jalapeno was abnormally mild even though I didn't take the seeds and membrane out of it. I used a combination of reduced fat mayo and fat free sour cream and did not add any cheese only to keep the weight watchers points down. I cut up a big ol' kosher dill pickle instead of using relish, and I hesitated about putting in the egg, but compromised and used two hard boiled egg whites (I fed the yolks to the cats). We loved the combination of flavors, but next time I'll make sure my jalapeno has some punch. Thanks so much for the post, Shunpr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great Salad!! Not being a fan of pickle relish, the second time I made this I omitted that and the egg (although the egg was tasty in it). I added some chopped red bell pepper as another reviewer suggested and, wanting to cut down on the fat, eliminated the cheese. Instead, i made a dressing of 1/2 mayo and 1/2 fat free sour cream and added some chili powder, chipotle hot sauce and just a dab of dijon mustard. Next time I may put the egg back in or add some black beans to it, but it was delish! Thanks for such a versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I really love this. I wanted to make for my lunches so I added a can of chicken. I left out the onion and used red pepper. I used frozen peas and that worked great. I also used cheddar cheese. Can do just about anything to make it your own. A really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I didn't have time to chill it. It was very yummy! I'll try the leftovers chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Loved it! I left out the egg & pickle and added an extra jalapeno, sunflower kernels & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I have made this several times and it always gets eaten up. Its great on a hot day.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Loved this!! I used thawed, frozen petite peas instead of the canned - very fresh and I'll definitely make this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yum! I used frozen peas, thawed. I needed low fat so I left out the cheese and egg and used only 1 Tbs. of mayo with 2 Tbs. of plain yogurt, seasoned with a little Old Bay. Threw in a can of tuna too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States