Super Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great soup, but I did make some minor changes. I had 2 frozen turkey legs that I partially cooked on the stove with the 4 cups of water and some chicken bouillon. While that was cooking, I chopped the carrots, celery, and onion and put them in a crockpot. I added the turkey legs (whole) and the broth and let that cook on high for a few hours. I then cut the meat off the bone and added it back to the crockpot along with frozen corn and a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower and some rice. Just before serving, I added the can of cream of chicken soup, but no cheese. My kids loved it and it is definitely a comfort food type of soup that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This is an exceptionally great soup. I generally don't approve of Velveeta, but in this case, I wouldn't try anything else It is one of my family's favorites, especially on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Ok Ok. This is an absolute awesome recipe!!! Here's what I did to make it even better!! First I poached my turkey. Used 3 turkey thighs, filled a big pot with water & a cup of chicken broth, waited for the water to boil,then put in my diced potatoes, cut up veggies & the 3 turkey thighs. Bring water down to a simmer, cover with lid and don't touch for 30 mins. I poured the water/chicken broth into a gravy strainer, and poured 4 cups of skimmed liquid into my croc pot. Put 1 can each Cream of Chicken & Cheddar soup {substitute for cubed cheese} & mixed it with a wire whip. Cut my turkey to mouth size bites & put in the croc. Added a half bag of Green Giant frozen mixed veggies, set on low for 4 hours. Didn't add the onions for no particular reason, will add next time. By far the most tender turkey I have ever had in soup. Incredible. Snowin' like mad here {Massachusetts} & sittin' back with a hot & hearty soup!!! TY Melody!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I made this soup using left-over turkey and it went over well with my family. I love recipes that let me sneak in vegetables that they normally turn their noses up to, like broccoli. The only thing I added was a healthy dose of ground red pepper. Thank you for sharing. On edit: The leftover soup was so thick that I used it for pot pie. I mixed 1 stick butter, 1 cup milk, and 1 c self-rising flour and poured it over the soup. Baked 350 for 1 hour. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
omg, is this soup yummy! i made my broth & took meat from a turkey breast carcass. from there, i followed the recipe exactly as written except for using fresh (blanched) broccoli & adding 1/2 tsp. fresh ground black pepper. borden's "american singles" processed cheese worked very well. you'll discover this soup is even more delicious when served the next day! thank you melody!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I highly recommend this soup. It is a fast & easy meal all in itself. I will be making this a lot this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This soup was excellent. I made it as recommended and it was delicious. Even my kids 4,3 and 3 liked it....veggies and ALL! They were a little suspicious of the broccoli at first, but once they tasted it in the cheesy soup they were sold. My son ate 2 bowls! My husband loved it as well. It is a great soup if you just want some comfort food on a cold day or to use up veggies you have sitting around. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stacy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I didn't use cheese mainly because I forgot to buy it but also because I won't use processed cheese. I had cooked a turkey breast for Thanksgiving, so I took some of that meat off and shredded it into the soup. I sprinkled some cheddar on the top. It is so good, and it warms up well (probably better without the cheese). Perfect with a half baguette on a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is a tough one for me to rate. I really, really like the flavor of the soup, but for some reason, I didn't like the turkey in it. It just seemed out of place for some reason. The dark meat just kind of stood out to me, not in a good way. It's odd because I really like turkey, I swear! I ended up eating around all the turkey and really enjoyed the soup. I wasn't in the mood for broccoli so I threw in some fresh mushrooms instead and I cubed up a block of cheddar instead of using Velveeta. I might try this again but will probably use chicken instead. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe! I got all kinds of raves at work. I did make some changes though: since I made it around thanksgiving, I used leftover turkey. Also to use up some leftovers, I used leftover gravy instead of one can of soup. Definitely a soup to repeat in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States