Super Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I LOVE this soup! I have used chicken broth and left over turkey (instead of boiling just the legs) and it takes great! Great texture very hearty! Great meal! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a great soup, but I did make some minor changes. I had 2 frozen turkey legs that I partially cooked on the stove with the 4 cups of water and some chicken bouillon. While that was cooking, I chopped the carrots, celery, and onion and put them in a crockpot. I added the turkey legs (whole) and the broth and let that cook on high for a few hours. I then cut the meat off the bone and added it back to the crockpot along with frozen corn and a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower and some rice. Just before serving, I added the can of cream of chicken soup, but no cheese. My kids loved it and it is definitely a comfort food type of soup that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe! I got all kinds of raves at work. I did make some changes though: since I made it around thanksgiving, I used leftover turkey. Also to use up some leftovers, I used leftover gravy instead of one can of soup. Definitely a soup to repeat in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It was very simple to make and my toddler had TWO bowls ;). I ended up using chicken tenders instead of turkey and I baked the chicken and then diced it and added it in with the potatoes and carrots. I omitted the frozen veggies and used 1/2 chicken broth 1/2 water. I will definitely be making this again soon!! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxanapeace
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Perhaps if I had followed the directions more exactly I would have wound up with the "super soup" that everyone else is raving about. Unfortunately, I wanted to make a big pot and used over 2 qts of water and my huge leftover turkey. Added 3 cans chicken broth to get some flavor. Then my mistake.. I hate celery, so I diced it in my food processor. That was alright, but I also diced my carrots and onions in there. End result (after 3 cans cream of chicken / 1 can cream of celery/ half pound of velveeta / half lb cheddar /some parmesan and romano and mounds of seasoning) was basically a slightly cheesy, creamy broth with mini chunks of potato and a few veggies. (Oh yeah, I ended up using 1 lb mixed frozen and 1 lb green beans.) I doubt I'll do this again, I prefer my usual, entirely homemade (i.e. no cans of soup and processed cheese!) turkey, lentil, and barley soup, but if I did, I promise to follow the recipe!! Thanks anyway. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
WOW! This is a great soup. I did make a few adjustments to suit my family's taste. I used my leftover turkey carcass from Thanksgiving to get the broth. Boiled this most of the day and got a really rich stock with plenty of meat that fell off the bones. Also I only used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and used shredded cheese instead of the processed stuff. I used frozen green beens for the vegetable and added a tablespoon of coarsely ground black pepper for a little spice. I served this tonight with the French Bread recipe from this site along with a salad and chocolate cake for dessert. It was definitely a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I made this in a crockpot. Used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of celery soup. Added thyme, pepper and sage to enhance the soup flavor. Also used a tip from a previous review to use some parmesean cheese - as well as 1/2 of the called for processed cheese. VERY good flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This is an awesome, creamy recipe! My 5yo had 3 bowls, 3yo had 2! We scaled back on the cream of chicken (1can) and half the cheese, as I didn't want it to be too thick. I also used a turkey cutlet, half chicken broth/half water, and added pepper, fresh rosemary, basil, and sage! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a yummy soup that was great for leftover turkey. I used leftover dark meat and 2 cans of chicken broth with about 1/2 cup of water rather than the 4 cups of water called for. Also added pepper. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tynda, Amur Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States