Super Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I'm a cheese-lover, so am surprised at how really good this was even though I only had a few slices of cheese on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
great for the whole family, my 7 year old cried the entire time i was making it, saying he wouldnt like it, then i made him take a bite, and he gobbled it up, and asked for 2nds!, instead of carrots or frozen brocoli, i used a bag of frozen mixed veggies, and i used left over turkey with chicken broth to replace the water since i didnt cook my turkey in it! yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This soup was excellent. I made it as recommended and it was delicious. Even my kids 4,3 and 3 liked it....veggies and ALL! They were a little suspicious of the broccoli at first, but once they tasted it in the cheesy soup they were sold. My son ate 2 bowls! My husband loved it as well. It is a great soup if you just want some comfort food on a cold day or to use up veggies you have sitting around. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stacy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Even the kids, who don't usually like soup, liked this one. I used all fresh veggies, diced turkey I had in the freezer, and added shredded cheddar cheese at serving time as I didn't have processed cheese. We'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I didn't use cheese mainly because I forgot to buy it but also because I won't use processed cheese. I had cooked a turkey breast for Thanksgiving, so I took some of that meat off and shredded it into the soup. I sprinkled some cheddar on the top. It is so good, and it warms up well (probably better without the cheese). Perfect with a half baguette on a cold fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is a tough one for me to rate. I really, really like the flavor of the soup, but for some reason, I didn't like the turkey in it. It just seemed out of place for some reason. The dark meat just kind of stood out to me, not in a good way. It's odd because I really like turkey, I swear! I ended up eating around all the turkey and really enjoyed the soup. I wasn't in the mood for broccoli so I threw in some fresh mushrooms instead and I cubed up a block of cheddar instead of using Velveeta. I might try this again but will probably use chicken instead. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Fixed this soup today, delicious!!!! My husband loved it. I only prepared half of the recipe. Did not have any celery, added some celery salt to the soup. Very rich and filling. Will make often this winter since I still have leftover turkey breast in the freezer. Will substitute chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Delicious soup!... I used leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and recently started to make my own cream soup base to skip the msg in canned soups (cream soup recipe on this site). I used about 2 1/2 cups of turkey and added some chicken boillon to my water. I made it thick because that's the way my family likes it! I will definately make this again! left out the broccoli because I didn't have any, but the celery, carrots and potatoes were enough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I loved this soup. Me and my daughter were arguing over the last bit of soup, and I really was supposed to take it to my mother's house. I made it 2 days after thanksgiving. I froze the rest of my turkey meat that was left over and I am making it again this weekend. Maybe some of it will actually make it to my mom's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Wonderful recipe to experiment with - I used leftover turkey from Christmas, and 1 15oz can each of chicken broth and water instead of the 4 cups of water. Also, I did not have all of the veggie ingredients, so I used what I had in the freezer: mixed veggies for soup that included okra, corn, green beans, potatoes, tomatoes, and lima beans among other things. I used 1 can each of cream of chicken and cream of celery (to make up for the lack of actualy celery), and also added 1/2 cup of brown rice and some Old Bay Seasoning. I cooked and stirred until the rice was done, adding almost a second can of chicken broth to keep it soup-like. Had the leftovers the next day in homemade turkey pot pie (suggested by another reviewer) Thank you for this really good recipe for me to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States