Super Simple Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family has enjoyed this recipe for years. It could not be more simple and easy to follow. We call them Itty Bitty Butter Biscuits. Some of the comments are interesting...people are adding lots of things that change the entire recipe. One comment said she appreciated the tip regarding self rising flour. that's what the recipe calls for. If you are adding baking soda and baking powder, you are making a different recipe biscuit. If you want add in's to this recipe, that would be a bit of cheese, or herb or maybe a little garlic. Not buttermilk. Light sour cream would be runny, no? Lots of comments about muffin tins, which is right, but I hope you mean mini muffin tins. I don't see that specified any where else. These are supposed to be like 2 bite sized. I think they are the best! AS is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are great. I have been using this recipe for years. Can cut a bit of the fat by using light butter and light sour cream. I also suggest doubling the recipe as 6 won't be enough! I melt the butter then add sour cream stirring until smooth before adding the self rising flour (or Bisquick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Conley Smith
Home Town: Alamo, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaime920
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did 2 cups of Bisquick, 1 stick of butter, and 1 cup of sour cream! This was the perfect amount to fill a 12 count muffin pan. UNREAL! These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Won't be looking for another biscuit recipe....this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These are my favorite! Love how easy they are and the simple ingredients. I've added blue cheese, cheddar, garlic, etc. always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Biscuits come out great every time. Simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The biscuits are good,the kids loved them, but the second time I made them I added a 1/2 teas. baking powder and a little salt, they can out fluffier and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Hubby loved them, probably because of all the butter! I had trouble getting them to cook all the way in the middle without being too crispy on the outside. All in all it's nice to use up the rest of the sour cream but I think I will stick to regular biscuits from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Followed every instruction; the result was inedible. Bland, crumbly as well as wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe as an experiment, just for grins, because some things about it were so unusual. What struck me? First, baking them in a muffin tin. Second, at the moderate temperature of 350*, a temperature more for cupcakes. Third, a stick of butter for a cup of flour?! Finally, some reviewers reported the tops didn't brown. I decided to try this recipe with a different take. I blended the butter with the flour until crumbly, then gently stirred in the sour cream, taking care not to overwork the dough so as to ensure tenderness. I like the crusty, sort of crunchy, golden exterior of a nicely baked biscuit so I baked them at 450* on a cookie sheet, lined with foil for easy clean-up. I dropped them onto the sheet in mounds and flattened them slightly. (If I try these again I'd skip that step - maybe they'd rise just a tad higher) I was pleased with the results, all of which I expected. I saved time and a pan to clean by dropping them onto cookie sheets. The biscuits baked to a golden brown, including the tops - and in 10 minutes! They were soft and tender with a crusty exterior. And because of all that butter they were rich and flavorful. But...as I also expected, these were TOO buttery - you could use half the butter (even if you had to add a little extra sour cream or even milk to compensate) and these would be much better - less butter-saturated and a little less salty. Four stars as I baked them, lower if baked as directed and they didn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Wow! So easy and so delicious! I am not a great cook, but these biscuits turned out great. My husband hates sour cream, so I made sure he didn't see me make them. He ate them up! They were so moist and delicious warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States