Super Simple Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
These are my favorite! Love how easy they are and the simple ingredients. I've added blue cheese, cheddar, garlic, etc. always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very easy to follow. Love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The biscuits are good,the kids loved them, but the second time I made them I added a 1/2 teas. baking powder and a little salt, they can out fluffier and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Hubby loved them, probably because of all the butter! I had trouble getting them to cook all the way in the middle without being too crispy on the outside. All in all it's nice to use up the rest of the sour cream but I think I will stick to regular biscuits from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Followed every instruction; the result was inedible. Bland, crumbly as well as wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe as an experiment, just for grins, because some things about it were so unusual. What struck me? First, baking them in a muffin tin. Second, at the moderate temperature of 350*, a temperature more for cupcakes. Third, a stick of butter for a cup of flour?! Finally, some reviewers reported the tops didn't brown. I decided to try this recipe with a different take. I blended the butter with the flour until crumbly, then gently stirred in the sour cream, taking care not to overwork the dough so as to ensure tenderness. I like the crusty, sort of crunchy, golden exterior of a nicely baked biscuit so I baked them at 450* on a cookie sheet, lined with foil for easy clean-up. I dropped them onto the sheet in mounds and flattened them slightly. (If I try these again I'd skip that step - maybe they'd rise just a tad higher) I was pleased with the results, all of which I expected. I saved time and a pan to clean by dropping them onto cookie sheets. The biscuits baked to a golden brown, including the tops - and in 10 minutes! They were soft and tender with a crusty exterior. And because of all that butter they were rich and flavorful. But...as I also expected, these were TOO buttery - you could use half the butter (even if you had to add a little extra sour cream or even milk to compensate) and these would be much better - less butter-saturated and a little less salty. Four stars as I baked them, lower if baked as directed and they didn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Wow! So easy and so delicious! I am not a great cook, but these biscuits turned out great. My husband hates sour cream, so I made sure he didn't see me make them. He ate them up! They were so moist and delicious warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
For ease these are great, for flavor, not the best but would be really good with gravy and with some jelly. Didn't need extra butter and liked the crunchy outside and moist inside. Very dense. I threw in a little sugar. I'm not the best at tweaking recipes so I really appreciate the changes that some people make on recipes. Gives me ideas that I would not have thought of. So, thanks for the easy good recipe and thanks to the positive changes some have made.I definitely will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I would probably rate these lower (2.5?), but my husband liked them & I liked idea of cooking biscuits in a muffin tin. I thought the taste was OK, but while making them, I had to recheck the recipe, as I could not get the flour to incorporate that much butter w/o leaving huge clumps. In the end I added another cup of flour and a bit of milk. As other reviewers have mentioned, they crumble (OK, that may have been my fault due to the extra flour) and are anemic looking. And despite generously greasing the tin, they stuck terribly. Last night, I looked up a biscuit-only cookbook I have and realized that none of the recipes had a 2:1 flour to butter (margarine/shortening/lard, etc.) ratio like this recipe. In fact, many had no extra fat except for what was in the milk, yogurt or sour cream. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Amazing and amazingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States