Super Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this with hot Italian sausage and mozzarella cheese - no spinach. I also saute chopped garlic and toss the mushroom caps in that, cooks them at the same time. Remove caps and set aside and then when you put the stuffing in them, it only takes a few minutes under the broiler for them to be ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Great appetizer! People that didn't even like mushrooms loved this! I think this recipe calls for A LOT of spinach...maybe a little too much?? After filling the mushroom caps with the mixture, I sprinkled them with extra parmesan before putting them in the oven. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've made these appetizers a few times now and everyone loves them. I have made a few changes: - 1/2 the spinach (too much spinach makes the mushrooms bland) - Added Italian seasoning to the sausage while cooking - Added a little garlic powder to the sausage mixture before stuffing I also found that making the stuffing the day before improves the taste and makes it easier to stuff the mushrooms. Of course a little extra cheese on top always helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I took the idea of this recipe and made it simple... one package of Jimmy Dean Sage breakfast sausage, crushed red pepper, bread crumbs, one egg and parmesan cheese. They were so yummy, quick to make and a huge hit at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This recipe was good but there was WAY to much spinach! Next time I will use half the amount of spinach and it was almost like it was missing something in tase but I think that might have had something to do with the over powering taste of spinach. Also when cooking sausage make sure that it is finely crumbled. If its clumps get too big its hard to stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
These were a BIG hit! I made the whole batch for my husband and I to snack on..we ended up taking them to our jobs, and we were swarmed! Everyone raved about them. I sprinkled extra parmesean cheese on top and added a little garlic powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbsintheMinded0

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Overall, very good. I too used a little less spinach and chopped up the stems very small to use in the mix. I sauteed them in a small amount of olive oil after browning the sausage. I had a lot left over, so my husband suggested i put the mixture into an omelette the next day. Fantastic idea! I will definitely make this again, although stuffing those little bugurs is a lot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N2YOUREYE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amaroa
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a beautiful recipe with Provisions. I pan fried the mushrooms in butter on each side on medium heat before stuffing. As stuffing i used BE hot sausage with fresh baby spinach, cream cheese, Parmesan cheese, with a little bit of garlic salt. After roasting the mushrooms I piped the mixture into the mushrooms with a zip lock bag and then baked on the bottom rack @ 350 degrees for fifteen minutes. They are amazing, my family asks for them during the holidays every year! As Garnished I snipped off the tips of baby spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaroa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I did make a few changes. I left out the spinach, added in chopped mushroom stems, italian seasoning, and garlic powder. I also found that I had more stuffing than I had mushrooms to stuff... so I rolled the stuffing into small balls and put them in a freezer bag and froze them for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very easy and was a great hit. Used 3 cheeses and more than called for. Had several request for my 'secret' recipe;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States