Super Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe is delicious. Taste wise it was perfect, I didn't change a thing. However I will double the recipe next time as I felt I had too much meat, the sauce was VERY thick! Apparently I haven't made this recipe in a really long time because hubby was pleasantly surprised and asked that I make it more often. Sounds good to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Simple and easy recipe and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This turned out pretty good. Definitely more liquid next time. It turned out to thick for our liking. I will definitely be making again but with a few changes. Update: 12/25/12 I made this for breakfast this morning. I doubled the milk and flour this time. I think it turned out too milky. Nextime I am going to just cut down the flour in the original recipe. I know Iwill get this down to a "T" next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is by far the BEST Sausage Gravy Recipe PERIOD!! Added 2 Beef Bullion Cubes & of course a LOT of Fresh Ground Pepper, perfecto!!!, you have the best Sausage Gravy EVER!!! Thank You!!! MMMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Love this recipe! It always turns out right perfect! I also keep the full sausage amount. It's heartier and keeps you full longer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was very easy, simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Good base recipe. I agreed with many others that the ratio of sausage was WAY high - even doubling the milk/flour, I could've used about 1/2-2/3 of the sausage. It was also on the too thick side, but that was an easy fix. Just slowly added more milk, and voila. I can't help wondering if some of the people with the flour clumping tried to mix the milk and flour together, rather than slowly adding the flour to the cooked and undrained sausage before adding milk. It makes close to a roux, and is never lumpy. It was actually the first time I had done it this way instead of separately, and I was thrilled to find how easy it made "lumpless" gravy. Also, use a good quality sausage (avoids too much grease), and I noticed letting it sit on warm and stirring while I was making the biscuits let more of the sausage flavor permeate the gravy. If it went straight to the table, the gravy would've been much blander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I suppose I should review this, considering I make it every. Single. Weekend! Sausage gravy is typically something I enjoy but don't love, but this one is EXCELLENT! I do as many other reviewers suggested and doubled the flour and milk. I can't imagine NOT doing that, as this is very meaty even after doubling the sauce. I have found that it needs a dash of salt to suit our tastes, and I am very generous with the pepper. I serve this with big, fluffy buttermilk biscuits, and it makes for a hearty, filling breakfast that sticks with you for awhile. This is perhaps my boyfriend's favorite breakfast ever, so I make it Friday night (show's how exciting my life is, eh?!), along with the dough for the biscuits. Then I reheat it on the stove as I bake the biscuits fresh. The BF eats what is left on Sunday. Works out great! Thanks for a simple and awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Can't get any more simple or better than that. This is the standard recipe I use for any 1 pound of breakfast sausage to make sausage gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I added more milk but this was a rich, flavorful recipe that everyone raved about! A definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States