Super Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was delicious, I used only half a can of concentrate and half a package of onion soup mix, as reccomended in the reviews above and it was so good, a perfect amount of sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was one of the easiest meals I have made. My husband and I loved it, but not such a hit with my picky eating boys. Used Tropicana juice instead of concentrate and halved the onion soup. Added sauted onion, with minced garlic and pepper. Used thighs and legs - next time will use skinless. There was a lot of chicken fat in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I needed to use up a bag of oranges, so I put them through the juicer to make this recipe. I put frozen mixed vegetables in the bottom of the pan and covered with the chicken and sauce, baked it and served it over rice. It was tasty and has a strong orange flavor which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My family loved it! I altered a few things...I used both boneless breasts halved and legs. I sauteed sliced onions in olive oil and garlic then placed them on top of the chicken. I decreased the amount of dry onion soup mix to 1/4 cup. I then mixed the ingredients and poured them on top of the chicken and onions. I served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
5 stars for being simple with few ingredients. It definitely is orange! I don't know why the other reviews said to halve things, keep in mind it is 6 oz of OJ and a normal add-three-cans-water concentrate is 12oz. I used 6 boneless skinless thighs I got on sale and this was the perfect amount of sauce. Great as is, and I think next time I'll bread and fry chicken pieces and top with this sauce for a crunchier version. Thanks for easy cheap Chinese food! ***side note - seems to be a milder orange flavor the day after***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. I use 8 chicken thighs and serve with rice and frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe was OUTSTANDING. Five stars definitely. The orange flavor really stood out and contrary to other reviews, I did not think it was incredibly salty. I actually thought it was perfect the way it was. After baking it uncovered, I did throw it on the grill to get some charred marks on it. I made it alongside some green beans lightly tossed in lemon juice, salt and pepper and rice with Cilantro. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I use boneless chicken breasts instead of legs and 6 oz. of Tropicana oj from the jug. I also use French onion soup mix in place of the regular onion mix. My extra twist...and you will want to add this (TRUST ME)..is sauteeing about 1/2 onion in olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. Place on top of the chicken as the last ingredient before baking and WOW!! I have made this 3 times for my family and plan to make it for my parents when they visit next month. It is JUST that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
this was pretty good and it could be a five star next time i will cut back on the onion soup mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I like this a lot. It has a strong flavor, and that's fine with me. I used more chicken than the recipe called for and I like having lots of sauce. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States