Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe is awesome, everyone loves it!!!I bake mine as a bundt cake, using pumpkin puree I made myself and I seem to be making one every week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Considering we made a number of changes, this was pretty good! We used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and then a mixture of all purpose flour and whole grain pastry flour for the other 3 1/4 cups. We tried using only one cup of brown sugar, as my regular pumpkin bread recipe calls for, but it just didn't work because this makes SO much batter. We added in another cup of white sugar, and that was enough (so we left out 2/3 c sugar). Instead of oil we used two cups of applesauce per another reviewer's suggestion, and the bread was still very moist of course, but I'm sure that it's a different texture than if its made with oil. We'll probably keep messing with the recipe and also try others, but I think this one is certainly worth a try whether you follow the recipe to a T or make some changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Way to sweet. I was looking for a pumpkin bread and got a dense pumpkin cake. After tasting it the people at the party thought it was a cake.They really liked it, but I am not a fan of so much sugar. At least not in my bread. I may try it again since it has no cholesterol but with a lot less sugar.Maybe just half of the recomended amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Not enough pumpkin flavor. Finished loaf was very dense and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. the batter was so good that i almost didn't want to bake it. I think that the flaked coconut gave this bread a slightly different texture. my dad said that this bread was too dense, but everyone else loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Really hearty and not to sweet. We gave mini loaves of this away for the holidays and everyone semmed to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Best pumpkin bread I've had! I made muffins and a loaf out of this full recipe, using 3 1/4 c flour and cooking muffins 22 minutes as suggested by a previous reviewer. Made a couple of adjustments to cut down on the refined/processed ingredients as well: for flour: 1 1/4 c whole grain spelt flour 2 c white whole wheat flour for sugars: 1 c unrefined molasses sugar 1/2 c organic blue agave nectar for oil: I melted 3T butter in glass measuring cup, stirred in a 1/2 c size cup of applesauce, and made up the difference with vegetable oil I also added a bit of allspice. The result was a deliciously cake-like, perfectly sweet and spicy bread that I'm having trouble not devouring. My 14-mo-old loves it, too, and I don't have to feel guilty for giving her some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was great, I left out the nuts because I didn't have any on hand. I also used pumpkin pie filling so it was really sweet like cake. The coconut gives it that something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is amazing. I added a tiny amount of cloves and ginger and left out the flaked coconut and walnuts. SO moist. This is definitely replacing my current pumpkin bread recipe. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe, I've made it several times both as listed and with modifications. The modifications I make are: using all wheat flour, substituting about a 1/4 cup of molasses for some of the sugar, and no flaked coconut. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States