Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have now made this more times than I can count! I am always horrified by the amount of eggs and oil in these breads, so I made some easy substitutions to make it even healthier, but SHHHH, I don't tell anyone when I give it to them! I substitute 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of regular flour and put one of those little containers of applesauce (approx. 1/3 cup) in the 1 cup measuring cup before filling it the rest of the way up with olive oil. NO, you can't taste the difference. I also replace the cinnamon/nutmeg mixture with 1 teaspoon EACH of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon, and I used LIGHT coconut milk too. Toasting the nuts and adding coconut flakes is unnecessary. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Yes, this is as super moist as it says and more. It's even moister the second day if you wrap it well in saran. The flaked coconut is completely uneccesary, and I didn't toast the walnuts and it turned out perfectly. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves for an extra kick and using Light Coconut Milk gives the same great results. I've made this 3 times in less than two weeks and my husband can't get enough. Great for giving since it stays moist for so long! **2nd UPDATE** - I've substituted unsweetened applesauce for ALL of the oil and and coconut milk (which has a lot of cholestrol and fat!) and it turned out phonomenal! The applesauce kept the bread SUPER moist and you can't taste it at all. Due to the wetness, it did take an extra 5 min. in the oven. Will never use oil/coconut milk in this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
yummmmmmmm! This is a great treat for kids, my 8 month-old and my 2 year-old both love it. I make muffins and bake them @ 350 for about 22 minutes (give or take a minute) I also changed the recipe to accomidate using 1 15oz can of pumpkin. I use 3 1/4 cups flour and I add a tablespoon of applesauce. I have tried using less oil, and it dosen't come out right - stick to the 1 cup. I also adjusted the sugar to 1 1/2 cups brown and 1/2 cup white. I've tried using even less but they then taste a bit too bitter for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This bread is wonderful. Everyone raves about how wonderful it tastes. I leave out the coconut because I'm not a fan, but the coconut milk really makes a difference in the moistness of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Wow. In the ultimate quest for replicating the Starbuck's Pumpkin Scone, I discovered this recipe. It's moist, tasty and irresistably pumpkin. I followed the recipe exactly (I usually modify recipes to suit tastes) and was _very_ impressed. Try it out as 12 muffins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This was the best bread! I did not have flaked coconut on hand so I omitted it. Instead of walnuts I added almonds (not toasted) cut in half and fold it it into the batter. They tasted wonderful! Also, I made pumpkin fudge which never set so I just melted that down and used it as a glaze on top of the bread. This bread is moist and flavourful! A hit with my husband and 16 month old. It only took 45 minutes to cook, if I had left it in the whole cooking time it would have burned. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this for the first time last night, and we ate the first loaf in less than a day. Wowsers! My apartment still smells fragrant. I skipped the shredded coconut and the walnuts, and am perfectly happy with the result. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYBEAN31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessica wang
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
THIS IS GOOD i am sitting here, actually PROUD of myself for having made the best tasting thing I have ever made in my life. This recipe is amazing and it is super super moist. I left mine in just a little longer and the top if wonderfully crunchy and the inside is just luscious. I absolutely recommend this recipe, unless you are looking for a more traditional pumpkin bread loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Made this exactly as posted, except I used less coconut and more walnuts. Also sprinkled walnuts on top. I only had 1 bread pan on hand, so I made the other half of the recipe as muffins....MMmmmm! I think I like them even better as muffins. Two thumbs up from this lactose-intolerant cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This recipe made has the most moist texture I've ever made that didn't come from a box! I found that 1 hour baking time was perfect (could just be my oven). Also you could add more spice if you wanted. The coconut milk made all the difference. THANK YOU!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States