Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't care for the taste of this bread, and it especially wasn't worth all the extra fat and calories from that much oil and coconut milk. I was disappointed because it didn't seem like the pumpkin was spiced enough and the bread itself had a strange aftertaste to me. I have a whole bunch of it now and I have no idea what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I swapped in 1 cp whole wheat flour, used 1 1/2 c. brown sugar, no white sugar, 3/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil for the oil and added 1 tsp Chinese 5 spice powder. It was great-- very moist and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I brought this bread to a party and it did not go over very well. My husband and myself did not care for it either. I love coconut, but you couldn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
As I only have one loaf pan and didn't want to bother with halving the recipe, I can say it turned out beautifully when done in a 9x13 baking dish. An excellent recipe for vegan families (just substitute the white and brown sugar with rapadura and a little molasses) or family members with dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this bread for work & it was a hit. I have tried it with both sweetened coconut & unsweetened. Both have worked fine. When I used the sweetened coconut, I used 1/3 cup of coconut milk & 1/3 of coconut water insteadd to compnesate for the sweetness of the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Wonderful bread. I made a pumpkin bread recipe the other day and incorporated from that 1/2 tsp. Allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves to give this one a little more kick. Smelled wonderful baking and tasted great too. Mad a spread with cream cheese, honey and cinnamon to spread on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This tastes GREAT! I cut the recipe in half and made 12 cupcake sized muffins. They turned out perfect. I also substituted applesauce for 3/4 of the oil, and omitted the shredded coconut. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
i was so glad to find a vegan pumpkin bread recipe, especially one with such a creative alternative! the coconut is a great touch and it really does come out very moist. when i have a loaf to some vegan-skeptic family members they begged for more! i did substitue half a cup of applesauce for some of the oil (.5 cup oil + .5 cup appleasuce) and it turned out just as great and even more healthy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is incredible! And I even made it low fat by substituting most of the oil with applesauce...I am very pleased. Wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Everyone loved it. Too delicious to be vegan... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States