Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't care for the taste of this bread, and it especially wasn't worth all the extra fat and calories from that much oil and coconut milk. I was disappointed because it didn't seem like the pumpkin was spiced enough and the bread itself had a strange aftertaste to me. I have a whole bunch of it now and I have no idea what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I swapped in 1 cp whole wheat flour, used 1 1/2 c. brown sugar, no white sugar, 3/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil for the oil and added 1 tsp Chinese 5 spice powder. It was great-- very moist and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I brought this bread to a party and it did not go over very well. My husband and myself did not care for it either. I love coconut, but you couldn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
As I only have one loaf pan and didn't want to bother with halving the recipe, I can say it turned out beautifully when done in a 9x13 baking dish. An excellent recipe for vegan families (just substitute the white and brown sugar with rapadura and a little molasses) or family members with dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this bread for work & it was a hit. I have tried it with both sweetened coconut & unsweetened. Both have worked fine. When I used the sweetened coconut, I used 1/3 cup of coconut milk & 1/3 of coconut water insteadd to compnesate for the sweetness of the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Wonderful bread. I made a pumpkin bread recipe the other day and incorporated from that 1/2 tsp. Allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves to give this one a little more kick. Smelled wonderful baking and tasted great too. Mad a spread with cream cheese, honey and cinnamon to spread on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This tastes GREAT! I cut the recipe in half and made 12 cupcake sized muffins. They turned out perfect. I also substituted applesauce for 3/4 of the oil, and omitted the shredded coconut. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
i was so glad to find a vegan pumpkin bread recipe, especially one with such a creative alternative! the coconut is a great touch and it really does come out very moist. when i have a loaf to some vegan-skeptic family members they begged for more! i did substitue half a cup of applesauce for some of the oil (.5 cup oil + .5 cup appleasuce) and it turned out just as great and even more healthy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is incredible! And I even made it low fat by substituting most of the oil with applesauce...I am very pleased. Wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Everyone loved it. Too delicious to be vegan... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States